The Fairly Odd Couple (SHORT STORY)

Everydaygrlblog
2 min readSep 26, 2021

--

As they walk past my balcony walking hand in hand, staring up at me secretly discussing the idea that I may have been watching them all this time, the stench of uncomfortable fills the air.

Just a week prior to this encounter, I found the girl crying tears of agony of how she could no longer “do this”. Yelling into the phone cupped in her trembling hands to her confidant on the receiving end. I watched from my balcony tempted to reach out a helping hand, but also trying to not insert myself into the unknown drama. She quickly runs back into the house and shuts the door as her mate bends the corner, walking with such rage that I could barely hear the keys balled up into his tight fist. He mumbles things to himself as he walks swiftly past my balcony never noticing my presence. He gets to the door, releases the keys from his tight grip, unlocks the door and walks in. I watched closely as he slammed the door so hard I could hear their windows shutter.

I moved to the corner of the balcony closest to what I would assume is their living room window, patiently waiting to hear calls of distress. But, there was nothing, silence. Unsure if my next move would be a quick 911 dial, yet nervous to actually have to make that move. But, five minutes past and there was continued silence.

The next day I watched them leave the house again, hand in hand, discussing what seemed to be the most intriguing conversation as she giggled in between his words while pulling him closer to her. I continued to watch in complete awe wondering how their night actually ended.

Left up to my imagination. This couple more than has my attention. My balcony unknowingly captures it all and conveniently acts as a front seat to this fairly odd couple. Until next time, I would assume.

--

--

Everydaygrlblog

Freelance Creative Writer, Entertainment Blogger, Creator of Everyday Girl Blog