There’s Something About Joseline Hernandez.……

Everydaygrlblog
3 min readAug 2, 2021

--

Look I know what you're thinking. But, before you make up in your mind that Joseline Hernandez is not worth your time, hear me out.

I've seen the Love and Hip Hop storyline of Joseline Hernandez and Stevie J play out every Monday night, we all did. A hot mess I must say, to say the least. But, one thing I do remember for certain is Joseline letting it be known that one day she will be a star and no one would get in the way of that, not even Stevie J.

If you catch my drift, this woman came from a broken home, exposed to the fast life at 16 and at one point stripping was her only means of income. With that backstory alone, she has come a long way.

Now onto her new show, Joseline’s Cabaret. I kept hearing about it, seeing stories about it in the press, but it wasn’t until recently that I actually sat down and watched the second season. Now I’m one to give the benefit of the doubt, but listen. I get what Joseline was going for as far as giving ladies that are apart of the exotic world of stripping and adult entertainment a chance to do something more respected, sort of speak. But, the approach and execution gets lost with the profanity and blatant disregard for a person’s character.

The problem is the communication aspect of it all. I feel deep down Joseline does just want to help a young woman much like herself in the past achieve success without selling themselves short. But, the way she communicates her love is toxic. I believe people from her past damaged her willingness to trust people's intentions. I believe she has this competitive nature to always win, so she doesn't have to suffer through a loss in pain.

It's kinda like tough love taken way too far. Seriously, hurt people hurt people. But, the idea that you want to treject your pain onto someone else thinking this will toughen them up is insane. How can you gage if the pain you are releasing is something that that individual is capable of carrying?

Throughout the show you can see moments of Joseline's nurturing side giving advice that I'm sure she wishes she had, but it's not consistent.

Joseline. If you're reading this I'm proud of you. If no one else tells you. You came a long way from who you used to be. I know in your heart that you mean well and passing the torch and that there is amazing. But, baby girl there's also a lot of hurt deep inside of you that needs to be healed and it shows in your actions. The way you communicate with those you are trying to save from the streets is not healthy. You can do better in that regard. And I'm sure you know this. And I also hope one day you will take that time for yourself.

But, continue doing your thing as I'm sure you will. Toxic or not creating the platform for the ladies did help them one way or another.

--

--

Everydaygrlblog

Freelance Creative Writer, Entertainment Blogger, Creator of Everyday Girl Blog