How to Write a Request Letter: Format and Tips

Harry Anderson
3 min readApr 6, 2023

--

A request letter is a formal letter written to request something from someone. This could be anything from a job, a favour, a reference, or even a donation. Writing a request letter can be intimidating, especially if you’re not used to writing formal letters. However, with the right format and approach, you can write an effective request letter that gets results.

Here is a basic request letter format that you can use as a guide:

  1. Heading: Your letter should begin with your name and address, followed by the date. The recipient’s name and address should come next, followed by a formal salutation (e.g., “Dear Mr./Ms./Dr. [Last Name]”).

2. Introduction: Begin your letter by stating your purpose for writing. Be clear and concise, and explain why you are writing. For example, if you are writing to request a job, you could say something like, “I am writing to express my interest in the open position at [company name].”

3. Body: In the body of your letter, provide more details about your request. Use specific examples to support your request, and be sure to explain why it is important to you. If you are requesting a favor or a donation, explain how it will benefit you or others. If you are requesting a reference, provide some background information on your relationship with the person you are requesting the reference from.

4. Closing: End your letter by thanking the recipient for their time and consideration. Be polite and professional, and express your willingness to provide any additional information that may be needed. Close with a formal closing, such as “Sincerely” or “Respectfully.”

6. Signature: Sign your name below your closing. If you are sending a physical letter, be sure to leave enough space for your signature. If you are sending an email, you can simply type your name.

Here is an example of a request letter using this format:

[Your Name] [Your Address] [City, State ZIP Code] [Date]

[Recipient Name] [Recipient Address] [City, State ZIP Code]

Dear Mr./Ms./Dr. [Last Name],

I am writing to request a letter of recommendation for my graduate school application. I recently applied to the Master’s program in [field], and I believe that your recommendation would greatly strengthen my application.

As you may know, I worked as a research assistant in your lab during my undergraduate studies, where I gained valuable experience in [specific skills or tasks]. I believe that your firsthand knowledge of my work ethic, dedication, and abilities would make you an excellent candidate to write a recommendation letter on my behalf.

If you are willing to provide a recommendation, I would be happy to provide you with any additional information you may need, such as my transcript, resume, or personal statement. I appreciate your time and consideration, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

[Your Signature]

[Your Name]

--

--