Life In Monochrome (Week 11)

A weekly summery of my 365 Monochrome project.

Erik Witsoe
3 min readNov 18, 2017
Intersection 72/365 Canon EOS 6D II, SIGMA ART 20mm 1.4f
Hood 73/365 Canon EOS 6D II, SIGMA ART 20mm 1.4f
Mirror 74/365 Canon EOS 6D II, SIGMA ART 20mm 1.4f
Smoked 75/365 Canon EOS 6D II, SIGMA ART 20mm 1.4f
Balance 76/365 Canon EOS 6D II, SIGMA ART 20mm 1.4f
Black Coffee 77/365 Canon EOS 6D II, SIGMA ART 20mm 1.4f
The Mole 78/365 Canon EOS 6D II, SIGMA ART 20mm 1.4f

Autumn is in retreat and winter is fast approaching with temperatures dropping, making way for heavy clothing, lots of warm beverages and plenty of swift weather changes and gloomy, moody atmospheres to probe.

This week in review starts with the Polish National Independence Day (#72/365) where everything closes in observations and means that there is hardly any movement on the streets until later in the day as people make their way tot eh city center for festivities and plenty of Rogale świętomarcińskie. The rest of the week was busy running to one end of the city to another for various photo-shoots, meetings and I even spoke at a middle school for 3 different classes as their mystery guest on Friday where I took image #78 as I made my way back to the tram.

Often, I am finding myself wanting to simplify my images and beginning to look for striking frames, heavy in “story” but without too much to distract from it and completely make them minimalist. So a cup of coffee, reflecting the above lights shot from above becomes my object of interest ((#77/365) I kind of love the stares I get as I am holding my camera above it while shooting and trying to keep my hand in the frame at the same time. Always good for a smile.) or a simple scooter mirror reflecting a tram passing, catches and holds my eye just before I make my way to a meeting (74/365 my favorite of the week).

Almost three solid months of shooting for this project and I am more excited by it than ever and cannot wait to get to the next weekly recap to see what frames made it into the daily! I hope that you enjoy what you are seeing. I love to answer any questions that you might have, so please comment them and I will return to you! Thank you for watching.

You can see all of the images here Monochrome 365.

Gear supplied by my amazing partners at Digital24. Stop by and tell them Erik sent you!

--

--

Erik Witsoe

I’m Erik, a Photographer focused on lifes details, passionate creative and artist who relocated from Seattle to Poznan with my muse. www.erikwitsoe.com