Lookup Data Using Excel’s VLOOKUP

Ivan E. Villanueva
9 min readAug 27, 2023

Introduction

Every single one has been posted about VLOOKUP function, every single Excel course or post mentioned it and its because is so useful, but for me is not my top ten excel functions so I am going to write about from my experience and perspective as a software developer with an accounting background, I barely used Excel’s VLOOKUP function to analyze and make sense of data in my day-to-day work for that I prefer INDEX and MATCH but let me insist. It is important to know it. In this post, I will explain VLOOKUP from the ground up using straightforward examples and language for both technical and non-technical audiences. By the end, you’ll be able to lookup data in Excel like a pro!

So one of the things VLOOKP is so popular is its ease to use. If you have ever worked with spreadsheets, you probably know how frustrating it can be to find and extract data from large tables. You might have spent hours scrolling, filtering, sorting, or copying and pasting information from one sheet to another. Or maybe you have tried to use formulas or functions that are too complex or too slow to handle your data.

But what if I told you that there is a simple and powerful function that can solve most of your data problems in Excel? A function that can look up any value in any column of any table and return any corresponding value from any other…

--

--