Kobo Libra vs Kindle Paperwhite

expectolibrary
3 min readJul 7, 2022
photo by @expectolibrary on Instagram

First of all, I would like to mention that I have used Kindle Paperwhite 4 and Kobo Libra 2. I will make a comparison of these 2 e-book readers. This post is not sponsored etc. While I was doing research, I couldn’t find ad-free articles with enough opinions. I am writing this article to express my opinions and to help you.

Firstly, let me tell you which product I am more satisfied with: Kobo Libra 2.

kobo libra 2

I have used Kindle for many years, but this month I decided to switch to Kobo and bought Kobo Libra 2.

kindle paperwhite 4

So why was I more satisfied with Kobo?

1- Kobo’s screen is wider than Kindle’s screen, slightly. But of course, this may not be the most important difference between the two for some of you. Anyway, let’s move on.

2- Kobo has a detail that seems unnecessary at first, but is actually very useful when using it: there are 2 buttons on the side to change pages. When you press the top one of these buttons, the page goes forwards, and when you press the bottom one, it goes backward. Of course, if you want, you can change their location in the settings. The first reason why these buttons are very useful is that there is more space for you to hold Kobo in your hand, and it is definitely very useful to change pages with these buttons while reading books lying on your side.

3- Although the new Kindle models have an adjustable light feature, the model I used did not have this feature. Therefore, I borrowed a friend’s Kindle and compared the light with my own Kobo. Kobo’s adjustable light seemed softer to me than Kindle’s. Thus, my eyes do not get tired while reading at night.

4- Kobo allows you to adjust every feature to suit you. I can give this as an example: Do you want to read the book horizontally? You can adjust this immediately. Do you want your device to perceive this as moving to the next page even when you tap near the center without touching the far right of the screen? You can edit this in the settings.

5- Let’s talk about the formats of e-books. I like downloading e-books from the internet. Usually, the format of these e-books is epub or pdf. But I prefer epub because, unlike pdf, you can easily change the fonts and even the punto of epub files. Unfortunately, when I was using Kindle, I could only open mobi files. Kobo, on the other hand, easily opens epub files, which allows me to both find books and access the document I want without the need for a converter.

For now, I’ll finish this article here. I just wanted to mention 5 factors that explain why Kobo is more useful for me. In my next article, I’ll talk about other comparison factors. Hopefully, I’ve been able to help you!

--

--

expectolibrary

As a musicology student; I’m writing about books, studying abroad & languages! instagram: @expectolibrary