Project 5 Inspiration

Eric Yu
1 min readNov 8, 2016

--

For the final project, our prompt is to create a book. Having read many children’s books when I was a child I decided to make a short story book for children, especially after being inspired by the illustrations of Quentin Blake (illustrator of many classic Roald Dahl books) as well as Shel Silverstein’s illustrations in his poems; they were simple yet had a unique style to them.

Quentin Blake’s artwork on the left, Shel Silverstein’s on the right.

I want to highlight children’s stories from Chinese folklore, and I hope to use traditional Chinese brush strokes in order to make the illustrations in the book. I hope to consult my peers and family to find a good collection of Chinese short stories since Chinese culture is something I have been immersed in during my youth but cannot find as much of nowadays. Since it uses calligraphy, it would mostly be in black and white.

--

--