An open letter to Apple Inc.

Arman
7 min readApr 19, 2020
A cry for innovation

Dear Apple,

I know you, and somewhere between the database of previous employees and my Apple ID, you know me.

At the time of writing I have just finished my 5th and final year of design school to the unceremonious pomp and circumstance of uploading a zipped folder to a Dropbox in exchange for a piece of paper with fancy wording and signatures from strangers at the bottom of it. This experience has been shared at some capacity between myself, and the millions of students worldwide; seeing their years of sleepless nights, successes, and failures manifest into a fragmented, isolated world.

I’m not providing this information for sympathy, however as a framing tool to know where I’m coming from with this, and what kicked off the series of events which has led me to write this open letter.

For further context, I am a recent Industrial Design graduate who worked for Apple retail while attending University. I was inspired to go down this path after reading Leander Kahney’s biography on Jony Ive.

Enough about myself.

I am not one to write letters to companies. My decision to spend time typing this primarily came from the frustration I’ve encountered, from the world of sales and design, that I feel not enough people are either noticing or know about. The reason why public declarations of innovation have not been heeded, why recent efforts to appeal to regular users have not conjured the excitement it once had. To put it politely, nobody is surprised anymore.

This thought first entered my mind when the latest iPhone refresh, the revival of arguably the best iteration of the device, flew completely under my radar. Upon seeing the beautifully rendered backs of these devices, I was completely let down upon seeing that it is simply a slightly redesigned iPhone 8, which was a slightly redesigned iPhone 7, which was a slight revamp of the iPhone 6s, which, yeah…

I am not blind to the complexity of redesigning such a device, nor am I saying that these devices are poorly manufactured, I am however floored by the lack of innovation and considerations for the aesthetic of this offering by reviving a now 13 year old design.

This isn’t innovation, it is laziness.

The age of the playful, industry changing and paradigm shifting devices has ended, replaced with a cavalcade of products and attempts that draw ridicule, lack a purpose, direction, or have not been explored.

When I started working for Apple retail back in 2016, I was most excited to spend the free time I had outside of lectures, assignments and personal projects igniting a spark within customers; uncovering that hidden photographer, painter, musician and creator that’s within us all. I loved sharing the tools I used in my academic and personal projects with anyone who walked through those glass doors. The company credo, as altruistic and empowering as it was, failed to accurately represent the actions of the company. Decision after decision, launch after launch, credence to the digital credo on my phone began to dwindle.

“We redefine expectations.

First for ourselves,

Then for the world.

Because we’re a little crazy.

Because “good enough” isn’t.

Because what we do

says who we are.”

Because what we do says who we are. Actions speak volumes, and the unceremonious pomp and circumstance of the iPhone SE has been heard loud and clear.

I am not looking to blindly criticize and insult the products and services you make, but to describe my perspective of your products; from educating others to using them in my workflow. I have also been raised from a young age to know that criticism without proper feedback is destructive; a sentiment and theme that is reflected in your company credo and from the culture created at the store level.

“We draw strength from our differences.

From background and perspective

To collaboration and debate.

We are open.”

I always interpreted ‘open’ as open to criticism, open to change; because “good enough” isn’t.

As a design exercise, and to put my degree to use, I have decided to break down my perceived issues facing this recent iPhone SE release, address the concerns I have about the regressed design, and produce my own take on an iPhone SE for the year 2020.

Before a redesign can be proposed, it is important to provide context as to what areas need to be improved. In order to do this, a context map was produced.

The 4” display of iPhone SE (2016) proved to be a comfortable size for a portable phone. While the 4.7” display of the 2020 variant is welcome (and easier for developers), the size of the unit is called into question.

The necessity for the screen to be book ended by large bezels. This choice was a product of the limitations placed on the technology available at the time.The decision to revert back to this form factor has resurrected the home button and Touch ID.

While the latter is a perfectly valid form of biometric authentication, the inclusion of the haptic home button has fragmented the user experience of the device, creating two camps between the “bar” (iPhone X (2017) and later) and the “button” (last seen with iPhone 8 (2017).

Limiting the device to three colours, although understandable from a manufacturing + distributing standpoint, removes any form of fun or uniqueness that was found in the iPhone XR, creating a further divide between the user base.

When Steve Jobs returned to Apple in 1997, he brought with him a tool he used to simplify the product lineup. While this helped streamline manufacturing, it also introduced a powerful visual.

Although outdated in the sense of portability and product lineup, a simple reworking of this tool provides an interesting look into the current state of the iPhone. The line between pro users and consumers has blurred, the needs however rely on the features within the device. This means that the base experience should remain the same, however, the hardware should also be considered as well.

At the intersection between general users and a base product

The current iteration of the iPhone SE (2020) does not fit within this model as it can be considered a different device altogether. There is a disconnect between the internal and external hardware; future proofed internals with an outdated user interface. By reincorporating the home indicator within the new design, while maintaining the screen size and touch ID, it would help introduce older users into the new format (smaller screen than existing devices) while also familiarizing them with the new bar.

Size comparison between the iPhone SE and my conceptual redesign

A smaller form factor due to the removed bezels freshens up the product line and sets a new precedent for smaller handsets. This redesign would, as the SE branding has shown, encourage the adoption of a newer device; especially by those who are turned off by the larger size. Should the technology allow for it, a sub-screen touch ID or the already established face ID system. The flatter sides to the device reflects the current iPad Pro design as well as hearkening back to the original SE.

Profile view comparing thickness of the two devices.

The smaller, denser size of the device grants it the ability to thicken the device. This allows for an increased battery life and a flat, recessed camera. This allows the device to be placed flat on a surface without a case. The added thickness would go unnoticeable during the normal operation of the device.

This letter, critique and design exercise are not meant to be a definitive solution to the next iteration of the device.

Rather this is simply one user’s take on a product that has seen many changes over the year. A user who misses the radical iterations and radical creativity found in the iPod lineup. I decided to pursue Industrial Design because I wanted to create experiences. Products that inspire people to think differently; about the role that these everyday tools play on our lives. Introducing users to their new favorite artifact. My decision to write this open letter was to encourage consumers to think critically about the products they purchase, and to challenge those that produce them to push the envelope, to expect the same kind of dedication to innovation from a company that was started by two misfits in a garage.

Thank you, stay safe, and don’t be afraid to think different.

Arman

--

--

Arman

Canadian Product Designer. My mom thinks I’m cool