This is what the Palais du Luxembourg in Paris looks like inside

Richard Nahem
3 min readOct 14, 2015

--

Les Journees du Patrimoine is an annual weekend event in September throughout France where many private and government buildings are open to the public. In Paris the Elysee Palace, the Hotel de Ville, and many foreign embassies are among a list of over 100 buildings one can visit for free.

One year I was lucky enough to get into the Hotel de Ville but in later years the crowds have taken over and there are long waits to get into the popular sites. I was giving a St. Germain tour with three sisters from the U.S. on the Saturday of Les Journees du Patrimoine. After we strolled through Luxembourg Gardens we passed the Luxembourg Palace and I noticed there wasn’t a line to get in. Curious to see why, we walked towards the end of the two block barricade and discovered there really was no line. Feeling as though it was my lucky day and I had won the jackpot, we walked right into the palace, with minimal wait time because of the high security. I was also happy that my clients were game like I was and realized what a rare treat this was.

The Luxembourg Palace started construction in 1615 and was built for the widow of King Henry IV, Marie de Medici. It was completed in 1625 but Maria de Medici only lived in the palace till 1631. Today the former palace is the French Senat.

The visit encompassed a series of buildings including L’Hotel de la Presidence/Le Petit Luxembourg. The smaller buildings had the private offices of some of the senators including the sumptuously decorated office of Gerard Larcher, President of the Senat plus the Queen’s chapel.

(You can get some of my latest pics of the places I visit with my Postcard Subscription service where you will receive high quality prints every month in your mailbox.)

We were in awe with our mouths gaping open as we passed through the main libraries, the sweeping marble staircases, the Queen’s former bedroom, Salon Victor Hugo, and the gold encrusted conference hall.

The highlight of the visit was the main conference hall, a stunning theater like room designed by Alphonse de Gisors, constructed between 1836 and 1841. The side paintings by Merry-Joseph Blondell represent the crowning of Philippe le Long and Louis XIII and also Charlemagne and Saint Louis.

After being completely dazzled by the splendor and opulence of the Luxembourg Palace we took a nice lunch break at a café on St. Sulpice Square.

You can check out my latest posts on my blog where I show you top places to visit in Paris. I am also creating a monthly Paris Postcard collection which you can subscribe to and receive high quality printed cards in the mail. Thanks for reading!

--

--