A Tribute To The Best Commandant Ever: Colonel L.I Lawal

Eyitayo Olabode
3 min readNov 20, 2019

--

Colonel L.I Lawal Commandant, Command Secondary School, Ipaja, Lagos. (1984–1987)

You are precious and will go places. . .”

These were the Commandant’s welcoming words when I joined Command Secondary School Ipaja in 1985. Words from a Great Man which still rings silently in my ears.

Boy! How we enjoyed all our years with him as the Commandant of Command Ipaja what an amazing impact he had and still does in our lives.

Though a military man, he was highly sociable and academically inclined with an exemplary level of cultural civilization.

A family man, extremely close to his wife, Mrs Dupe Lawal and loyal to his friends amongst many are Mrs. Tayo Onimole (Nee Adegite).

I struggled just like a lot did in how he related with his son “Senior Sanjo” as a father and on equal footing with other kids as students. That was who he was — firm and disciplined. That was Colonel L.I Lawal no nepotism or favoritism.

An educationist to perfection and in this regard he gave his time, talent and all he could for us he knew from “no where” whom he called his boys and girls.

He used his influence and connection in giving us the best, bringing in men of dignity and influence in his quest in transforming Command Ipaja. We will not forget the experience with Chief M.K.O Abiola and Reverend Joseph Abiodun Adetiloye.

Who will forget the school and commemorative songs which you gave us ”Tenth Anniversary of my secondary school”, ”Ipo Ola Dara Ooo”.

Colonel L.I Lawal also nurtured our spirituality by teaching us to Pray . . . ” O Angel of God, my angel guardian, whose most holy care, God commits me there to lighten and protect, to rule and to guide O angel of God ever this day be at my side….”

There was humor, lots of humor even with a disciplinarian like Colonel L.I Lawal. this comes to mind remembering the episode with Erubusi Some times I am just tempted to say to an erring fellow either at work or a social gathering ”Show me the Scar . . . .Erubusi !!! Erubusi . . . show me the scar”

Mrs Comfort Ajose, Colonel L.I Lawal and Mrs Titi Akinyemi (L — R)

An officer and a gentleman Colonel L.I Lawal worked with mutual respect and professionalism with his able deputies, VP Admin Mrs Titi Akinyemi and VP Academics Mrs Comfort Ajose. We saw this play out several times on the assembly grounds and in other fora. The trio were a formidable team.

The Command Ipaja of today still benefits from your years of labour even after over 30 years. . . . we kept the promise, eyes on the ball . . . . ”Idle Feĺlow, Eyes on the job”

A loving husband, a caring father, a loyal and diligent soldier and a committed commandant.

Colonel L.I Lawal, our own C-in-C, today we honour you posthumously with an equal mix of pain and joy. Absolutely agree we are “precious and going places”.

Thank you for all. We miss you greatly.

--

--