UX Design Ethiopia

How To Become A UI/UX Designer

Eyobel Kirub
4 min readJun 15, 2022

You want to take your design skills to the next level?Becoming a UI/UX Designer requires you to change the way you build websites by making your users the main focus (User-centered design). User-centered design is an iterative design process in which designers focus on the users and their needs in each phase of the design process…You have been building websites for a while but they look something like this NB my design before I learned UI/UX Design :)

Unity university library management system UI

You want to be able to build websites that not only look modern and beautiful but easy to use and make your user’s experience on your website as joyful as possible.Here are some of my recent designs

Danny Studio UI Design

Today I will be sharing you the resources I used to learn to be able to design websites that are very attractive and make your users stay longer on your sites.

Learning Resources

I have prepared learning resources for both visual learners that love learning from watching videos just like myself and people who love to learn by reading a book,blog…

Video resources

For those of you who are already familiar with Adobe products you probably know Daniel Walter Scott. He is a great Teacher and his course is what I have used to learn UI Design along with a designing tool from Adobe’s products Adobe XD.

Course 1 User Experience Design Essentials — Adobe XD

Are you excited to get into the world of UI/UX but you don’t know where to start? This course will allow you to add UX designer to your CV & start getting paid for your new skills. The first 3 hour of the full course is available on YouTube watch. To get the full course check my telegram channel.

Course 2 Google UX Design Professional Certificate

User experience (UX) designers focus on the interaction that users have with products, like websites, apps, and physical objects. They make those everyday interactions useful, enjoyable, and accessible.

Over 7 courses, gain in-demand skills that will prepare you for an entry-level job.

This course consists 7 mini courses that cover different areas in the UX world. I have listed all 7 courses below

1.Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

2.Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate

3.Build Wireframes and Low-Fidelity Prototypes

4.Conduct UX Research and Test Early Concepts

5.Create High-Fidelity Designs and Prototypes in Figma

6.Responsive Web Design in Adobe XD

7.Design a User Experience for Social Good & Prepare for Jobs

Do you want to know how to take this course and get certificate for free follow me, I will be posting another blog on it soon.

Youtube

YouTube is another great resource for learning anything. DesignCourse is my favorite channel to learn anything related to UI/UX Design. I will have another post on the best channels to follow on YouTube to learn Frontend Development and UI/UX Design. Follow Stay Tuned!

Text Based learners

For those of you who loves to learn by reading something like a book or a blog I have asked people who work as Designers to share a book and Here is a book one of my coworkers suggested

Book 1 Refactoring UI

Refactoring UI takes everything we know about design and bundles it into one comprehensive package, including a book, screencasts, a component gallery. Learn how to design beautiful user interfaces by yourself using specific tactics explained from a developer’s point-of-view. This will help you to design websites that are easy and feasible to develop when it comes to implementation.

To get the book and courses for free join my telegram channel : https://t.me/futurethiopia

If you find this helpful and want to get more contents follow me on medium and join my telegram channel!!!

--

--