Throwback to when I started writing

Ezinne Anne Emilia
3 min readNov 25, 2021

--

Today, I am going to walk down the memory lane of when I started writing. I was about eight years old when my cousin had written a book, she titled The wicked must not go unpunished.

I loved reading so I would beg her to let me read it. She didn’t always agree, sometimes I bribed her with my food or pocket money. One day, I sat down and wrote my own book. It was a drama which I titled Mr. Troublemaker it was quite epic as I could remember. It had a lot of grammatical errors but I was very proud of myself. Whenever I was bored of reading other books then, I would read mine. I enjoyed reading it and I wrote another play when I was eleven.

I don’t really remember the title of the second play but I remember that it was very lengthy. I loved the book so I took it to school, church and anywhere I went to, just to show it off. Unfortunately, it got missing, I remember searching everywhere but I couldn’t find it, I asked anyone who had come in contact with it but no one knew where it was. I was so hurt about it. Why was I hurt? A year before I lost that book, I left my family to go live with my aunty in another city, forgetting my first book in my family home. My second book was like a replacement to the first book but it got missing as well.

Now, that I think about it, I realized that the missing book had an effect on my writing because I stopped writing. Years later after that incident, I tried writing various novels, I would start so well but I couldn’t complete it. I ended up having so many uncompleted novels. I could come up with intriguing plots but since I couldn’t write. I would forget those thoughts eventually.

Three years ago, I had a dream where I won an award for writing and I woke up feeling inspired to continue writing. But, it wasn’t easy. Luckily for me, when it was time to write my project in school. I started writing, this time to pass my exams. My supervisor had advised me to write it chapter by chapter. That made it easier for me to write and to complete it as well. Initially, I was overwhelmed with the thought of writing so many pages since it’s been so long I did that. But, writing per chapter while meeting my supervisor for corrections made me realize that I could write and if I was unsure of my writing then I could meet someone better than me for corrections.

So, I am back to writing my thoughts and experiences chapter by chapter or story by story rather.

A throwback picture of me when I was nine years old, writing plays.

--

--

Ezinne Anne Emilia

A writer, software engineer, passionate about tech and adventure. Writing is a way for me to express myself and voice my opinions on issues I relate with.