“Eyelash Lullabye” Echo

Revisiting the Choose Must playlist: Day 29

Stephen R. Fox
1 min readMay 18, 2016

--

18 May 2016
I had my daughter in mind for this one, too. She’s not fond of sleeping through the night, but she likes when I play guitar. Unfortunately, playing it for her usually makes her bounce around like a SuperBall®.

I came up with this lick after another failed attempt to get her to stay in bed — I was trying anything at that point. Once I started playing it, she calmed down. She didn’t fall asleep, mind you, but at least she wasn’t walking around the room pointing out the mushroom light or asking for another drink of water or pointing to all the friends in her bed or trying to reach for the door knob, screaming “Mama!”.

After what seemed like hours, I tip-toed out of her room, recorded the idea a couple of times, and threw a chorus and bridge in the mix. I was delirious, so why not add another guitar at the end with a ton of tremolo?

I mixed this pretty quick; my pillow was calling. In fact, I can hear it again now.

\m/ #100DaysEcho

--

--