“Nothing To Hide”

Fabien Hameline
5 min readApr 25, 2020

Why you should care about your online privacy

When I accepted a new position as communication and marketing manager in a new online privacy tech company, I was very excited to tell about this new adventure to my friends and relatives. But soon I realized that they did not really connect with the cause, as they would tell me…

“I have nothing to hide. Why would this concern me?”

Truth is, online privacy concerns everyone. Companies and people alike. But focusing on the people aspect here, there are the two main reasons why you should care about your online privacy, even if you are not President Trump.

1- We are being watched and tracked each time we go online

Photo by Lianhao Qu on Unsplash

Since the 2000’s came along, we all very rapidly embraced the convenience of our newly acquired digital lives. Being able to video call our relatives from a different country via Skype, use Google’s fantastic array of services like Gmail, search whatever info we are looking for on search engines, being able to look at the best map itinerary in Google Maps when going on a get-away week-end, all that for free ?!

--

--