Scene: A Meeting of Minds

Fable Phoenix
7 min readJun 24, 2023

--

There was no turning back. Manik was finally asleep at their makeshift camp. She’d slipped something into his tea. Oh, nothing terrible but these hearty men fell like tree-trunks when faced with the mildest of drugs. It was now or never.

The groom’s outfit she’d created was dark-green and fit her like a glove. Her cap snuggled protectively around her dark hair and spiders prospecting for shelter slithered off its slippery-smooth surface. Her bow was light and her arrows true. She crept forward in the dark, gripping the uneven jungle floor with the boots she’d made herself. They were long and waterproof, running up to her knees in loyal defence. Slime slid off them with every step and scorpions stung the thick leather in vain.

The never-ending crescendo of the jungle was suddenly silenced by heavy breathing. Not hers. The hair on Hayu’s arm stood on end. Huge leaves dripped their night-dew ominously into an eerie silence. Her keen dark eyes scanned the shadows as she inched forward.

The breathing abruptly stopped and the rustle of a thousand snake skins rolled over Hayu, rattling the rafters of her reason. The moment had finally come.

She stopped and shivered involuntarily.

Stay calm.

A voice boomed into the silence. “Who dares to come to Besukhi’s lair?”

“It is I, Hayu.”

“Who is Hayu?”

“I am the Princess of Java and I want to be your friend.”

The giant winged serpent snorted in contempt, fire erupting from his nostrils. An entire tree went up in flames. Besukhi was illuminated in shocking detail for a moment, giant green scales matched only by huge red eyes, wickedly spined tail and massive leathery wings that rose up and seemed to trap the very darkness of night within.

He’s magnificent!

“Begone — before I immolate you as well. I have no friends and I seek none.”

“That is what I came to speak to you about.”

The Dragon momentarily paused his rising.

Now.

“Do you know why you are always so angry?”

“Because foolish greedy men annoy me at every turn.”

“Because you don’t have a friend to laugh about it with.”

Silence reigned. Come on… say something.

The Dragon huffed. “That can’t be all you want.”

Excellent.

Hayu smiled widely. “That shows how intelligent you are and that is very important to me.”

The Dragon snorted again but without fire this time.

At least he’s listening.

“It’s true. I want to leave the palace and come stay here with you. But I cannot do that if you are not as intelligent as me.”

You want to stay with me.” If the Dragon could’ve lifted an eyebrow, he would.

“Yes. I want to be my own person. I’ve been secretly practicing for years. I can dig and build a camp, identify and grow useful plants, cook and preserve meat and veg, weave yarn and sew material, make basic tools and weapons, wrestle and hunt, even tame animals and heal wounds.”

The Dragon’s eyes widened ever so slightly.

Is he impressed or does he think I’m stupid?

“And you learnt all this menial work to escape a luxurious palace and survive every day in a savage jungle with a seething dragon… why?”

Stupid it is.

“Because foolish greedy men annoy me at every turn.”

Rumbling laughter escaped Besukhi. This tiny hornet had the saving grace of wit.

“Tell me more.”

“My father wants the jewels you have in your belly. Not that he doesn’t have enough. But he thinks more money will make him happier, like as if wealth is health, instead of the other way round.” Hayu rolled her eyes.

“There are no jewels in my belly.”

“I’m not surprised, sounded like a myth.”

“I don’t mean it in that way, I do swallow people whole but I use their metal and minerals to make my fire.”

And now he’s opening up — yay!

“Oh, I see. Well, he doesn’t know that, so he’s sent his best knight to kill you and bring back the jewels.”

“And why would this knight be stupid enough to risk certain death? Is he touched in the upper works?” The Dragon gestured meaningfully at his forehead.

Hayu caught herself breaking into peals of laughter.

God, when have I laughed like this before? Not since Mother died.

“Well, yes… just like all the other sheeple in society. However in this case, he gets to marry me.”

“Congratulations.”

“Commiserations would be more in order. I don’t want to marry some random guy and be a figurehead queen, especially when the poor fool becomes king and turns into a dangerous arrogant one. Nor am I in the least interested in palace politics and power plays.”

Besukhi was unwillingly intrigued.

“So, what’s your grand plan then?”

“I’ve drugged Manik and left him asleep at our camp. I’ve got to go back before he awakens. I’ll tell you his plan before I leave. I…”

“Pah! I don’t need to know his stupid plan to kill him with one blow.”

“I wish you wouldn’t interrupt.”

“Sorry.” The Dragon wasn’t really sorry. He hadn’t had so much fun in centuries. He smirked.

Hayu rolled her eyes again.

“Don’t kill Manik. Or me. Capture us and wait for the King to come in hot pursuit.”

“Can I kill him?”

Hayu lifted her own eyebrow at this sally. “And repeat the same idiocy that you and he seem to love over and over again?”

Besukhi huffed.

“Negotiate with him.”

“Oh, deep joy.”

“Tell him you cannot let him go without punishing him for his arrogance. You hold all the cards. You will only return Manik. Not me.”

“You seem to have it all sorted out.”

“Wouldn’t you?”

“You think they won’t guess?”

“Their tiny brains are fragile nests of shallow aspirations rooted in outdated shibboleths. They wouldn’t dream of thinking outside it.”

“Is this whole thing a trick to kill me after you’ve fooled me too?”

“For the love of God… Would I risk coming here alone with that idiot for this?!”

“Alright alright keep your hair on.”

Hayu snorted.

“Bet you wish you could burn up a tree with that tiny noise.”

She giggled despite herself.

Besukhi grinned. “That’s better.”

The sky was lightening up.

I’ve got to get back before Manik awakens

Sobering up, she said, “What do you think of my plan?”

“Let me see if I’ve got this straight… You want me to play a stupid game with your stupid father and his stupider knight. Instead of killing them with one blow and going back to my lair in peace, I have to pretend to a stupid negotiation with him and then finally let the knight go but not you.”

“Congrats on getting it in one go.”

Besukhi growled at her impertinence.

“All this tomfoolery so I can have the dubious pleasure of your annoying company and your almost-certain whinging when you realise how boring and irritating and scary the jungle can be for a human? You must be joking!”

Hayu lifted an eyebrow. Because she actually could, unlike some others who could only imply it with their tone.

“First of all, you are not at peace in your lair — you’re the one who’s bored, irritated and angry most of the time.”

“Hmph.”

“Secondly, like I said, I’ve mastered all the essential skills needed, not just to survive but to thrive in the jungle.”

“Whatever,” said the Dragon under his breath.

“Thirdly, I don’t need you, for me to live in the jungle.”

“You don’t?”

“Nope. I want to live with you.”

“You do?”

The Dragon was beginning to sound like a broken record. He hurriedly caught himself.

“Why?”

“Because you’re interesting and intelligent and funny.”

The Dragon preened. His scales shimmered with an inner glow. He almost looked beautiful in that moment.

Poor thing. Never gets compliments, only insults. Damn people. No wonder I want to get away from them all.

The Dragon clicked his claws superciliously. “Well, of course. But I don’t need you for that.”

“Aren’t you bored of killing people with one blow? Wouldn’t you rather have fun challenging verbal duels with me where we never know who is going to win the next round?”

By God, so I would… thought the surprised Dragon. But can I be bothered? A few months down the line, we’re going to be so bored or angry that we’ll kill each other… even Mother Teresa wouldn’t hold up under these conditions! All this upheaval for what? Agitated thoughts and a disquiet mind… just when I’m learning to ignore them all.

“I know what you’re thinking. We’ll be bored and restless and kill each other eventually.”

Is she a mind-reader now?

“I want to visit endless other kingdoms and enjoy their delights and bring back their best practices. I can traipse around them on my own but I’d rather fly with you and share our adventures. We’ll be glad for the change when we go and pleased for the quiet when we come back. Plus we can reminisce about the best bits and laugh about the worst.”

More silence.

“So you see, I’ve really thought it through. What do you say? Do you want to stay bored or are you going to take a punt at happiness? Are you choosing anger or are you choosing fun?“

Dawn backlit Besukhi as he sat there like a Sphinx.

“Come on… Are you in or are you out?”

--

--

Fable Phoenix

Sharing glimpses of my writing journey... if you like a piece, do click on the clap button – it will help others discover it and make me very happy :)