My Path to Passing AWS Certified Developer Associate.

Faj Aliyev
2 min readOct 14, 2019

--

I would like to share my experience on how I passed the Developer Associate Exam. I studied for about 1 month. I score 890/1000.

The material courses that helped me in my Journey to get my third and final Associate Certification are as follows:

Acloudguru

This course is one of the main training courses I used for my review. The course is good and consists of 3 hours of video lectures with a few interactive labs.

Stephane Maarek

The second training material I used. I like his approach and the way he explained the lesson. He provided the basic understanding of the AWS services. An excellent training course.

Jon Bonso

The best practice tests ever been written. From the questions to the detailed and clear answer explanations everything was fantastic! The toughest, most in-depth practice test and the closest to the exam. I had learned so much because of this. It covered the advanced topics which were not discussed in detail by the video courses I took. The vital key on how I passed the test and a must to take! The level of difficulty of this practice test is much harder than the actual exam. So if you pass this tests then you are ready to take the real exam.

Topics to Focus on:

Lambda
AWS SAM
Kinesis
KMS
Data Pipeline
Cloud Formation
Code Deploy
DynamoDB
EC2 Instances
ECS
Cognito
SQS
API calls
API Gateway
Cloudfront
IAM roles and users
Elastic Beanstalk
X-ray

My Advice:

  • Stay clear of dumps. Cheating is not the way to pass. Instead look for a practice test that will teach you how to answer the exam based on your own knowledge and what you learned from the training materials you had used.
  • When doing the practice tests make sure you understand and did not just memorize the answer. You will learn a lot on the explanations and links provided. Each answer comes with a detailed explanations on why the answer is correct/incorrect.
  • On the exam make sure to double check your answers before you submit it. Do not rush.
  • Focus and use as many serverless offerings as possible.
  • Go thru FAQ’s and Cheat Sheets of each AWS services applicable to the Developer Associate course

Additional Helpful Resources:

Good luck to all that pursue this certification.

--

--