Notes from one of my design Interviews.

Falade Kunmi
2 min readDec 17, 2022

--

Earlier this week, I had a couple of interviews. In one of those interviews, I was given a task related to world cup design. I was supposed to do this in less than an hour which was generous in my opinion. I honestly do not remember how much time I used. However, I wasn’t satisfied with the end design.

Later that day, I shared this with a friend and designer and he suggested we create something related to that. I wasn’t interested ( so I thought ) but I couldn't get the conversation out of my head.

Note 1: You know this but let me just say it. Prepare for every interview! Know the industry and the design direction or style of that company or industry as the case may be. Check their social media pages.

At around 11 pm, I started to research sports poster designs. Eventually, I jumped on photoshop and came up with a world cup final themed design. Still, I'm not too fond of the final outcome but I totally enjoyed the process. I love how there are amazing sports designs especially football and basketball where I could take inspiration and form my mood board from there. I enjoyed the process of looking for the perfect image to go with my idea, exploring abstract backgrounds, etc. The NFL had some beautiful designs as well. Shout out to designers worldwide! Pinterest is a great place to start your research.

Note 2: This kinda ties note 1. Research! I honestly feel this will save time (in most cases) and improve your knowledge of the company/industry and the company you're going to interview with. You will have a direction as to what you're trying to achieve with your design. The typography style, graphic elements, etc.

Going forward, as the EPL and other major football leagues and International club competitions resume, I’ll be trying my hands at more sport-themed designs.

Till then, yours respectfully, Falade Kunmi.

PS: I’ll appreciate feedback on the world cup final design attached here.

2022 World Cup Final in Qatar Poster Design by Falade Kunmi.

Final PS: Season Greetings and Happy Holidays

Final Final PS: The PS here doesn't mean Photoshop.

Final Final Final PS: I hope Argentina wins this world cup.

Final Final Final Final PS: Check my LinkedIn and Online Portfolio below.

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/faladekunmi/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/falade.kunmi/?hl=en

Dribbble: https://dribbble.com/faladekunmi

Behance: https://www.behance.net/faladekunmi

--

--