Falaq
4 min readMay 28, 2023

Finally I managed to make up my mind to delete Indeed and share some of my worst experiences.

Hope it helps you …

Indeed app

Searching for a job is a challenging phase. With the rise of online platforms like Indeed, Yulys etc. many job seekers hope to find reliable opportunities quickly.

However, my personal experience with Indeed has been far from satisfactory. I encountered multiple scams that not only wasted my time but also shattered my trust in the platform.

I am going to share my encounters with these scams to shed light on the deceptive practices I faced. It is crucial to be aware of such incidents and learn how to protect ourselves from falling victim to job scams.

The Executive Secretary to the CEO Scam:

One of the scams I encountered involved a message from the Executive Secretary to CEO of We Always Tech (SMC-PVT LTD). The message thanked me for applying to a position and requested my portfolio, resume, and a recent photograph via WhatsApp. I found it unprofessional and suspicious that they asked to contact them through WhatsApp, which led me to doubt the legitimacy of the opportunity. Despite my reservations, I shared my CV through the messaging system of Indeed and waited. A day later I noticed that the job disappeared. It became apparent that this was a scam just to collect information about people.

The Masterminds Scam:

Another scam I fell victim to was perpetrated by someone claiming to be from “Masterminds.” I received a message containing a link urging me to open it and fill out a form to start an online business. Obliging, I clicked the link and provided the requested information. To my surprise, the job posting vanished immediately. Days later, I discovered that the link redirected to a website called “surveyheart,” indicating that the person was attempting to earn referral money by having unsuspecting individuals sign up. This incident further highlighted the deceptive nature of some job postings on Indeed.

The Questo Creators’ Room Scam:

In my pursuit of a freelance writing position, I came across an opportunity at Questo Creators’ Room. However, upon signing in to their website, I was compelled to play a game. When I questioned their practices, they disregarded my concerns and disappeared without a trace. It became evident that this was yet another scam, using the guise of a writing opportunity to deceive job seekers.

The PK Content Writers Scam:

PK Content Writers reached out to me, expressing interest in my academic writing samples. Eager to explore the opportunity, I promptly sent the requested samples. However, after submitting the samples, the company disappeared entirely. My attempts to follow up and find them were futile. It was disheartening to encounter yet another deceitful act within the job market.

The Cudy Technologies Scam:

Cudy Technologies claimed that I had been shortlisted for a content creator and editor role. To progress in the application process, they required me to take an online self-assessment. I proceeded with the assessment, but it soon became clear that Cudy intended to use my camera and microphone during a face-to-face interview. Uncomfortable with this request, I emailed them expressing my concerns, only to realize that the email address provided did not exist. This incident confirmed that I had fallen victim to yet another job scam.

The Sync Media Scam:

The most recent scam I encountered was with Sync Media. They congratulated me for being shortlisted as a transcriptionist and provided a video link for transcription. After completing the transcription within the given timeframe, I sent it back to them as requested. Unfortunately, Sync Media vanished without a trace, leaving me to realize that this, too, was a fraudulent job posting.

Final Words:

My experiences with Indeed have left me deeply disappointed and cautious about job opportunities found online. It is disheartening to witness scammers taking advantage of job seekers’ hopes and dreams.

It is crucial for job seekers to remain vigilant, research job postings, and exercise caution when sharing personal information or engaging in any suspicious activities.

Read the quick tips to protect yourself from job scams