Conditional Design - Color Grid

Farinaz Valamanesh
2 min readDec 12, 2019

--

Being a graphic designer I’m used to be in control of my work and the final design. But during this Interactive class project, I got to experience how my design would look like if it was made by others.

For the first step, I created a set of instructions explaining step by step what my audience would need to do in order to create my conditional design. I passed the instructions to my classmates.

The instructions

I provided an illustrator file with the instructions that my classmates needed to edit with their own personal photos. After a week I received results of everyone going through my instructions with their own point of view.

Process of one of my classmates implementing the instructions

It was interesting to see the variety of grids created by everyone’s photos and how different they interpreted the instructions. I found joy in the surprise of the results.

The final results of the instruction

Here is some of the designs I came up with implementing my classmates' instructions. They were different in the amount of complexity and were made digital or even by hand.

The Designs I did based on my other classmates' instructions

--

--