The value of journalism in light of mental health.

Shaudeh Farjami
2 min readOct 14, 2022

--

Let’s hone in on a healthy habit that has impacted my lifestyle immensely over the last few years: journaling. When dealing with the inevitable stress and pressure that comes along with everyday endeavors, journaling functions as a healthy way to express overwhelming emotions. Not only does journaling serve as a tool to identify negative thoughts, it is an outlet for positive self-talk and reflection. Keeping a journal allows individuals to fully unpack a negative behavior and recognize a stressor. The beauty of a journaling lies in the fact that a journal is the best listener, there are no bounds or limitations to what is up for discussion. Fleshing out thoughts and jotting pressures on paper help cool steam and let go of a situation.

Journaling does not always need to be associated with stress, pressure, anxiety. It can simply be an opportunity to highlight and triumph successes to refer to positive memories in times of hardship. Additionally, journaling can serve as a means to keep track of daily events, create to do lists, and set goals. Flipping back pages now and then, it is refreshing to see the amount of self-growth and revelations that have taken place on paper.

A journal provides a safe zone. A journal is the most trustworthy confidant. Regularly, I come to learn more about myself and my own emotions after free writing. Allowing myself to go down a rabbit hole in thought and genuine reflection brings to surface revelations, conclusions, and feelings that I did not know I had. Similar to talking through a scenario with a friend, a journal serves as a one-sided, non-verbal take on this conversation. Journaling has a similar effect, but stays internal.

A mural on Third Street promenade that carries so much power, esteem, and truth while also reminding me of my home in Laguna Beach.

I have found that setting aside a few minutes at the end of the day helps process thoughts, unfold decisions, reflect on the day behind me, and leave it all on the paper. In regards to my writing skills, journaling has helped me become more vulnerable and genuine as a writer. With each day, I find it easier to put my honest emotions into words. When it comes to my blog, it is essential to be as real and authentic as possible with my advice and conversation. Sure enough, there is always someone that will relate to your thoughts and be in the midst of the same thought process. The practice of journaling on a personal level has improved my voice, literary skills, and confidence as an academic and independent writer while also benefiting my mental health as a young adult.

--

--