Storytelling Lessons From Station Eleven

Tom Farr
6 min readNov 8, 2017

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel is easily one of the best books I’ve ever read. I loved every single page of it. Normally, when I love a book, it takes me about a week to finish it, but Station Eleven was different. It was so good that I felt like I needed to take my time with it, and I think it ended up taking me about two months to read, and I was as devastated as a reader can be when I finally read the last page.

As a writer, I kept reading what Mandel had written and kept hearing how much people around the world seemed to love the book, and I kept wishing I could write a book that was as good and as well written.

And as a writer, I felt like there was a lot that a fiction writer could learn from Station Eleven.

SPOILER ALERT — If you haven’t read the book, you might want to read it before reading on.

Write With A Nonlinear Structure

Stories are often defined as having a beginning, a middle, and an end, and most of us are accustomed to stories that go from beginning to end in chronological order.

--

--

Tom Farr

Tom is a writer and high school English teacher. He loves creating and spending time with his wife and children. For freelancing, email tomfarrwriter@gmail.com.