The Battle Against Writing Paralysis

Getting Past the Bad Ideas Standing in the Way of the Good

Tom Farr
4 min readNov 20, 2017

--

I didn’t participate in NaNoWriMo this year, but it wasn’t because I didn’t want to write a new story. I just didn’t have the time. Between my day job (high school English teacher) and freelancing, I knew I’d never be able to generate 50,000 words in thirty days. There was no sense in putting the pressure on myself to do something I knew I couldn’t do.

Still, I wanted to write a new story, even if it was just a short story. The problem is, as I’ve been exploring the recesses of my mind for a great story idea, I can’t seem to find anything that drives me to the blank page. There’s very little that drives me crazy about myself than the ability to generate several story ideas in a short amount of time. It seems like all the writers I look up to most are always generating new ideas. I’d love to be able to sit down at any moment and be able to create something compelling, but those moments are few and far between.

Avoiding Writing Instead of Writing

Maybe you’re like me. We call ourselves writers, but sometimes there’s nothing we avoid more than the act of writing.

Why do we do that?

--

--

Tom Farr

Tom is a writer and high school English teacher. He loves creating and spending time with his wife and children. For freelancing, email tomfarrwriter@gmail.com.