The Graduation

Extraction: Episode 1

Tom Farr
5 min readNov 18, 2019
Photo by Antonio Ron on Unsplash

Bryant exchanged a look with Skylar across the auditorium. She smiled, her curly blonde hair flowing out from beneath her blue graduation cap. He returned the smile, his heart beating a little faster.

“Skylar Evans,” he heard the announcer say as Skylar walked across the stage and received her diploma.

“I can’t believe you guys are getting married in two months,” Bryant’s best friend Zander said next to him.

“I can’t wait.”

Zander shook his head, incredulous. “But what am I going to do in the fall? Date a new college girl every week by myself?”

Bryant laughed. “Skylar’s all I want, man. Besides, I already tried the date-a-new-girl-every-week method during sophomore year. It wasn’t that great.”

“That’s because Mallory Traven had you believing she was pregnant.”

Bryant gave him a cold look. “Don’t remind me.” He caught a glimpse of Mallory, her dark hair framing her pretty face, further back in the line. He averted his eyes the moment she looked his way.

“Gotta be honest, bro,” Zander said. “I was surprised Skylar started dating you, knowing how much of a player you were.”

They took a few steps as the line moved forward.

--

--

Tom Farr

Tom is a writer and high school English teacher. He loves creating and spending time with his wife and children. For freelancing, email tomfarrwriter@gmail.com.