Doctor Who. Doctor Noooo!

Fatchecker
2 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Photo of Ncuti Gatwa
14th Doctor Who replaces 13th Doctor Who. Photograph: Ian West/PA

The BBC announced that Ncuti Gatwa (not a real name) would be the next Doctor Who.

The BBC’s mission is to “inform, educate and entertain.” They should add a fourth and fifth, “to ram diversity down our throats.”

I don’t watch Doctor Who, however it’s my inalienable (not a real word) right to complain about a show I don’t watch.

This is a classic BBC response to those who say “Seeing yourself on screen is so important.” I’m surprised we have any “first actor to play role X,” seeing as how the “first actor to play role X” is literally the “first actor to play role X,” but were somehow inspired to become an actor even tho’ they dint see “themselves” on the screen.

It were fitting that the new Doctor, an actor absolutely no one has heard of, except if you have Netflix which literally no one watches, were announced at the BAFTAs (no, I’ve no idea either) a show absolutely no one watches. This is PC gone mad. For clarification PC stands for Political Correctness not “Pissy Chips.”

This is what we have come to expect from the taxpayer funded national broadcaster. Ok, technically it ain’t taxpayer funded cos The BBC is primarily funded by the licence fee, supplemented by income from its commercial subsidiaries, but you know what I mean. Anyway, they treat us like reTardises. And to be fair we are. We’re the kind of people who voted the Strictly Come Dancing (another show no one watches) silent dance the Must-See Moment of the year, even tho’ you can clearly hear the music the couple is dancing to!

Well enough is enough BBC.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me finding the email with me BBC telly licence in. I went paperless cos unlike you BBC I care about the environment.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me printing out me telly licence.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me reloading me printer with paper.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me printing me telly licence.

You hear that BBC? That’s the sound of me ripping up me telly licence.

I’m all for diversity but you can have way too much over representation. Rather than choosing the right person for the job the BBC once again opted to pick someone from one of the minority communities who inhabit these isles. A Scot. Another Scot. What next? Doctor Who from Wales?

The BBC needs defunded.

--

--

Fatchecker

Culturally diverse blue collar ageing b-boy and incessant moaner. Midlander. yUK. Pronoun: Amateur hour.