Movie Notes (1): Yuni directed by Kamila Andini

--

Poster Credit: Four Colours Film

For me, Indonesian movie of the year goes to Yuni. It brilliantly highlights rural women’s problems amid poverty and religious conservatism, with a hint on technological advancements. Besides its excellent cinematography, Yuni is also a well-researched movie. Without romanticizing anything, Yuni even grasps the gap generations within rural women and all the scenes really portray the realities I also encountered while I was doing my fieldwork research in Indramayu and Majalaya back in 2016 and 2017. In short, apart from its identity as a fictional movie, I think Yuni gives a really crucial contribution in underlining some of the most urgent problems in Indonesia: child marriage, sexual violence, and conservative views on women’s role in society. Salute for all crew and cast of Yuni. #standingovation!

--

--

Ablaze like flames

A strong spirit, a tender heart | Hi! My name is Fathimah Fildzah Izzati and this is my blog ❤