Pass your Alteryx Advanced Certification with 6 Tips & Tricks

Ilma Nausath
6 min readDec 26, 2022

--

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

Did you think: “Alteryx Advanced Certification is pretty hard. The pass score is high and I have no idea how I would make it.” (Different thoughts? Share your random thought)

Alteryx Advanced Certification is not hard as it is, it requires some simple tactics to get through it.

What does this blog consist of?

  • Introduction: Alteryx Advanced Certification (Q&A sessions)
  • How to prepare for Alteryx Advanced Certification
  • What are the 6 tips and tricks to take away from me?
  • Do you need any help solving any Alteryx Advanced Certification questions?
  • My consistent progress toward achieving the Alteryx Advanced Certification

Introduction: Alteryx Advanced Certification

I’ll break down the introduction into a couple of questions to quickly grasp the points.

Q1: What is Alteryx Advanced Certification?

A1: Alteryx Advanced Certification is a certification offered by Alteryx to polish your data analysis skills and other key learnings.

Q2: What are the key learnings of Alteryx Advanced Certification?

A2: Alteryx says:

The key learning outcome of Alteryx Advanced Certification

Q3: How difficult is Alteryx certification?

A3: It has 40 questions including 36 multiple choice theory and practical-based questions as well as 4 hands-on practical questions. Every 36 questions own 1 point and each practical question holds 10 points.

It is not difficult if you have sufficient hands-on experience and practice with the Alteryx tools. If you lack practice, it is damn difficult to get through it(I had poor practice on my first attempt and made it to 39.1%).

Q4: Is Alteryx Advanced certification worth it?

A4: Yes. Since the industry has more demand for data analysis reports to make business decisions, Alteryx Advanced certification will prove your skills towards it. It is a huge perk for your professional profile and CV/Resume.

Q5: How do I get an Alteryx certificate?

A5: You need to score above 80% to get the Alteryx Advanced Certification. Since the exam is free of cost, you can attempt it once every 7 days until you pass.

Q6: What is Alteryx designer core?

A6: Alteryx Designer Core is the second level of the Alteryx examination. Generally, it tests your knowledge of the fundamentals of data preparation and analysis.

Alteryx Designer Core Certification

Q7: Is Alteryx in demand?

A7: As much as data analytics and business intelligence is growing rapidly in the market, tools such as Alteryx, Tableau, and BI will hold the vast place.

The following are the skills set the Alteryx Advanced certification offers:

Skills you learn to develop in Alteryx Advanced Certification

Q8: How many Alteryx certifications are there?

A8: There are 3 Alteryx certifications namely:

  • Level 1: Alteryx Foundational Micro-Credential
  • Level 2:Alteryx Designer Core Certification
  • Level 3:Alteryx Designer Advanced Certification
Major 3 Alteryx Designer Certifications

Adding Levels to certifications was a suggestion from my Alteryx friend
ShankerV”. Was it useful?

Q9: Do Alteryx certifications expire?

A9: Yes, Alteryx certifications expired after 2 years from the earned date.

Q10: How long will it take to learn Alteryx?

A10: It depends on your capacity and the time you allocate to learn. Please learn peacefully by allocating sufficient time to achieve the certification in the short term.

How to prepare for Alteryx advanced certification

Here’s the 1st rule of thumb to pass the Alteryx Advanced Certification: Simply download the Alteryx Advanced Certification preparation guide and learn each tool practically as per the instructions in the guide.

Download the guide here: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Exam-Prep/Advanced-Certification-Exam-Prep-Guide/ta-p/409406

2nd rule:

  • Take time and analyze each tool.
  • Check the Open example each tool offers as follows:
Click on the specific tool > Click “Open Example”. Alternatively, right-click on the specific tool and choose “Open Example”
  • Walkthrough each tool’s options. For example, if you take the Interactive tool, the walkthrough is the layer, template, transforms style options, and batch option.
Interactive tool Alteryx
  • Walkthrough the different ways to use each tool.

3rd rule:

Never rush and learn faster.

It is a professional examination enhancing your career growth. Therefore, learn smoothly and enjoy it!

What are the tips and tricks to take away from me?

  • Practice is the key to achieving certification: It is super difficult to make it through the certification without practice. Practise- Practise- and Practise.
  • Never get discouraged with your first attempt if you fail: The exam is competitive and difficult. I passed on the examination on my 3rd attempt ( Indeed, I am not a genius :)
  • Use the percentage breakdown after each attempt for improvement: Focus on your weak areas based on the Alteryx certification report as soon as you complete the examination. Focus on the areas where your percentage is less. There you win!
  • Google is your best friend: It’s an open-book exam. You can use Google to check out your doubts during the examination.
  • Take notes during the examination (only if you have less confidence in your first attempt or consecutive attempts): Take note of the questions which require some time to check. After completing the examination, review your notes and work on them for answers.
  • Do a lot of weak challenges: The weekly challenges give you the experience to solve practical problems quickly.

Where to find Alteryx weekly challenges?

Here you go: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Weekly-Challenge/bd-p/weeklychallenge

  • Did you search for Alteryx Advanced Certification questions?: There is no question dump or Alteryx advanced certification practice questions. Take the exam as much as you require as it is free and enjoy the learning process.

Do you need any help solving any Alteryx advanced certification questions?

Don’t hesitate to ping me on LinkedIn anytime. I didn’t have anyone to help me to clarify my doubts. Therefore, I know how it feels to handle all alone (it’s learning though).

I am just a DM away.

My Consistency Progress toward Achieving: Alteryx Advanced Certification

Initially, I thought the Alteryx advanced certification is super easy and I simply walk through the Alteryx advanced certification preparation guide and attempted the examination.

So, what do you think my achievement was?

I ended up with 39.1%. It was a colossal failure. I made up my mind and evaluated the percentage breakdown to improve my skills.

Alteryx advanced certification

After working on my weak areas, I attempted the examination again. I had 71%. The quiet closer it was! I missed only one practical question.

If the practical question was correct, sometimes I would have made it on my second attempt.

The last try was the third attempt. What do you think?

Did I make it or not? I should have since I gave you an in-depth examination. Yes, I made it with 93%.

Wow! I was surprised and never did I imagine to pass with this score. After all, it is worth the time and the smart work.

Alteryx advanced certification

The secret of this achievement was the “Consistency progress”.

I practised a lot of weekly challenges since I was not a genius and acquired a lot of experience and learning.

Photo by Aadhila Sharaff

Buy me a Coffee, Follow, Comment & Subscribe for more content!

So, did you enjoy this blog post or learned something? Please share with me!

Did I miss something? Add on in the comments. Let’s derive the discussion further.

--

--

Ilma Nausath

Professional Content Writer | Working in Fiverr (Level 2 Seller) | Content Manager | Catch me up in LinkedIn for content writing services