In Conversation With Farrukh Bhabha Who Turned The Table From A Dropout To An Entrepreneur

By “Aisha Atique, Fatima Iqbal, Insha Siddiqui, Khadija-Tul-Kubra Zaki”

fatima iqbal
6 min readMay 15, 2018

As technology, has marking its steps to the seventh sky, its sometimes easy to forgot that not everyone in the world has the opportunity to gain access of techno things.

Among of many things, 3D printers are becoming red note these days in the world of technology, but unfortunately this newly enhanced technology has very less access to one’s desktop computers. Having understood how amazing technology of 3D printing can change the way of people need, Farrukh Bhabha putting up duty on his shoulders to spread awareness of 3D printing in Pakistan in an effort to create a self-designed, made in Pakistan printers accessible to people of his country.

He is the founder of Pakistan’s first 3D printing startup Print 3D Pakistan which is located in Karachi. The miraculous technology of 3D printing has now become one of the top 100 startups.

Among of many victories of Print 3D Pakistan, Farrukh’startup is four times cheaper to make than western alternatives.

“He has already won a national design award for his remarkable efforts, and has joined hands with Microsoft office in Karachi to spread more his 3D startups throughout the country.”

In this context, we have organized an inspirational talk with him.

Q: Firstly Sir, Tell us about your business and What ignited the spark in you to start a new business venture? Your brief journey till date!

Ans: The journey began when I was an intern at an institution that worked with 3D printers. I learnt everything there was to know about 3D printing technology.

“ My learning process revealed that Pakistan was an untapped region as far as 3D printing was concerned while other countries were making history with the technology. That was my inspiration…..”

To put Pakistan on the map for 3D printing technology. Therefore I choose my Final Year Project “3D Printer”. That was my first step in the world of 3D Printer and till we have assembled and sold many 3D Printers in Pakistan. I am thankful to Almighty and my Parents to provide me such segments of limitless possibilities where I can actually do stuff which is effective in every way.

Q: What is your favorite aspect of being an entrepreneur or What do you feel is the major difference between entrepreneurs and those who work for someone else?

Ans: An innovative IDEA converts into successful business,

“ I think everyone can think creative, ALLAH has given much strength to human being, the only thing is human should utilize the strength and hit the paddle and just accelerate…..”.

If a person is doing a job and earning handsome salary then think why someone would pay you for working 8 hours and follow the instructions and work for his company, if XYZ company is paying you then you have something creative and the company is utilizing that creativity and building his own firm. What if the same guy utilizes the same number of hours, same effort, same dedication and hard work on his own CREATIVE/INNOVATIVE idea, then won’t he/she will be a future successful entrepreneur? THINK.

“We only think that we will fail if we try, we don’t think what if the idea succeeds? at least you won’t regret that I didn’t try….”

Q: How did you make your first sale. How much profit you earned at your first sale?

Ans: We haven’t earn a single penny on initial 8 months, we have got our first 3d printing order of prosthetic hand from GIKI university and we have charged them around 15,000/- that was our first revenue we have generated in 8 months of time.

Q: What kind of culture exists in your organization? How did you establish this culture and why did you institute this particular type of culture?

Ans: I believe that employee is the key partner of the business and without team, one cannot establish or grow his/her business. We work on a very friendly manner, there is no boss in our organization, we all are representing and everyone is so keen to promote 3D Printing technology in Pakistan, We don’t have large number of employees, we have small team and we are proud to have such team who made Print 3D Pakistan, a pioneer of top notch 3d printing solutions in Pakistan.

Q: What is your greatest fear, and how do you manage fear?

“We don’t have any fear and that’s what I believe is that if you are holding a company then you should not be fear with anyone, you should have the tendency to take risk….”

We always try to think out of the box, the things which attract user and benefit users, we not only provide services but we provide a proper solution that helps user to think to rebuild his/her idea.

Q: Have you ever turned down a client? Or have you ever come over an unprofessional or unethical client? How did you deal with it?

Ans: (with a big smile)it happens with us most of the time, but we have to stay calm and deal the situation because we as a company cannot blame other, it’s always us and we have to satisfy customer.

Q: What do you look for in an employee?The most important thing to us is that they fit into our corporate culture!

Ans: We try to dig a hardworking factor in an employee, if a employee is not sincere, loyal with a company then he/she might let your company down at very crucial time.

Q: How do you go about marketing your business? What has been your most successful form of marketing?

Ans: We market our products and services via social media, print media, tv shows and via sms that helps our user to stay up to date with our latest promotions and inventions.
we have received tremendous response from newspaper and tv media, people find these source of information more appropriate and that helps to boost our business.

Q: If you had one piece of advice to youngsters just starting out, what would it be?

Ans: I failed many times and was humiliated by almost every teacher in school as they were unable to find a single potential in me to praise or work upon. One time, tired of my constant failures at school, I asked my father to allow me to quit studies and open up a shop and do something productive with my time. But my parents completely rejected the idea and I was forced to take admission in College. There,

“I was kicked out after my 1st year exams because I could not perform and I had to transfer to another college to complete my Intermediate…”.

Going to University later was no different; the environment proved to be too casual and only increased my laid-back behavior. Slowly, as the results came out, I noticed a change in the behavior of my friends, who started distancing themselves from me and talking behind my back. In no time, my name appeared on the red-list and I was dismissed from the university as well, leaving me with no educational prospects and no friends. By then, I had lost all hope for a future. I was then encouraged to take admission at the same university again; it was not a determination to prove myself, but I gathered courage to do so anyway.

It took me 6 years to graduate but something happened that resulted in a huge change in my life.”

Our final year project on a 3D Printer that proved to be a huge success served as a spark that showed me a way to think and plan higher. It took me 4 months to convince my parents to allow me a startup business, where I created another 3D printer, along with raising its awareness among people. My University project led me to win an event at GIKI and thus provided me an opportunity to work with Microsoft. My name was recognized by many online magazines and news channels, and I started receiving invitations from different universities to share my story and motivate their students.

“I was appointed as a professor of MBA student, when I myself was not even graduated. “

Recently, I was nominated to be a Guest speaker at TEDx event based on my talent and invention, regardless of the fact that once I was not even able to speak in public.

“ It doesn’t matter to people what my failures have been; what matters is who I am now and the opportunities that I have created for myself, I think this story sums up the whole aspect of entrepreneurship……”

--

--