Case Study: Streamlining Doctor’s Schedule.

Fatimah Aminu
3 min readMay 24, 2023

--

Introduction
This project aimed to address the scheduling and management challenges faced by doctors in their daily workflow. By designing an intuitive and efficient product, we sought to streamline the process of adding and managing schedules, ultimately enhancing the productivity and organization of medical professionals.

On numerous occasions, I’ve overheard my brother, who is a medical doctor, expressing his frustration during phone conversations. He often discusses how he is unexpectedly assigned to be on call or how he wasn’t informed in advance, resulting in constant complaints or dissatisfaction.

Driven by the understanding that a well-conceived design has the potential to alleviate the problem for my brother, I took it upon myself to find a solution.

Duration: 5 days.

Research

During a weekend lunch, I engaged in a conversation with my brother, using the 5 whys; to get to the root cause of the problem.

My aim was to uncover:

  • whether the scheduling challenges experienced by my brother was faced among other medical professionals (doctors, nurse, dermatologist etc)
  • current scheduling method
  • technology usage
  • impact on patient care

After the conversation, I gained deep insights into how things currently run and suggestions on how to improve the process.

User Persona

I put together a user persona as this helps to put the user needs and motivations to the forefront of the design process.

Meet Dr. House — typical Prolife User

User Stories

I came up with several user stories and carefully filtered and selected the ones that align with the goals and scope of this project.

User Flow

To ensure a user centered design, I created a user flow to help me visualize the steps and interactions a user will take in accomplishing specific tasks within the scheduling feature.

Design

With a primary focus on Scheduling, below are the final screens after series of iterations.

Test

I conducted testing with two doctors from the specific hospital to assess the solution’s performance. Additionally, I sought validation from an external doctor and pharmacist to ensure that the solution is scalable and applicable beyond the doctors within the hospital.

--

--

Fatimah Aminu

Personal reflections, Design, and the joy of being a cat mom✨