Why My AGE Is Better Than Your

Alruafz
4 min readAug 12, 2022

--

(Kumazaki Takashi /Nippon.com)

Takishima Mika started fitness at the age of 65. “On archly time, I wasn’t just a little round off: I wore pants twice as big as I am now,” she recalls. But I refused to admit that I had gained weight. And one day, my husband pointed out to me that I had put on weight… I thought that the situation was critical and I started going to the gym.

Mika was then a housewife who did not exercise at all. Immediately fascinated by the world of fitness, she managed to lose 15 kg in 5 years.

Fitness coach at 87

The initial goal of losing weight was fully achieved, but far from stopping there, she began to take core muscle strengthening classes with a personal trainer. She was then 79 years old. Eight years later, her journey takes an unexpected turn:

“Mika loved to train and her motivation overflowed from his whole body” explains his instructor Nakazawa Tomoharu, recalling her beginnings. Moreover, chatting with her is a real pleasure, she is someone who always has an interesting story to tell. Since the coronavirus epidemic, it has offered monthly 60-minute physical training and trunk strengthening classes online to around twenty students between the ages of 40 and 60.

(Kumazaki Takashi /Nippon.com)

With her incredible youth, motivational strength and catchy voice, Mika inspires her students to give their all during class.

Mika, who started training at 65 before becoming a fitness instructor at 87, lives by his motto: “Age is just a number”. She shows us that it’s never really too late to start something.

Each of her days is full. She does not sleep more than 3 to 4 hours: she goes to bed around 11 p.m. and wakes up at 3 a.m. While it is still dark outside, she starts the day with walking and running.

“I go out around 4 a.m. and I walk 4 km and jog 3 km. I finish with 1 km of walking backwards. I do this every day except when it rains. These two hours pass so quickly”.

After this morning physical activity, she has breakfast at 7 a.m.: “I eat grilled salmon or horse mackerel, natto, eggs, tofu, kimchi and nukazuke (marinated vegetables with rice bran). I always eat two packets of natto”.

It is a balanced and healthy menu, rich in fermented foods and proteins. She then takes care of various household chores before sometimes stretching.

Even when she is watching TV, she always stands up straight and keeps her belly tucked in. When she walks home, she is careful to always keep her heels up. But it’s not as if she forced herself: these exercises became a daily habit before she even realized it, over the workouts and the progress she was making.

What type of food for such a form?

Mika always has a light lunch: At noon, it’s simple: a banana and a Yakult (milk drink). If I eat too much, I want to sleep.

It’s probably because she takes a hearty breakfast that it’s enough for her at noon. She then trains hard all afternoon. Either she is coached by Mr. Nakazawa or she takes on the role of instructor and leads an online class.

Even on non-class days, she trains. She stretches without music to stay focused, then continues with weight training. It takes him two hours in total.

In the evening, her stomach is empty and she is ready for a good dinner. She likes to drink a glass of wine before starting her meal: “I like both red and white. After enjoying a drink, I dine quietly. I often eat vegetable and chicken soup. I slowly boil various vegetables: Chinese cabbage, mushrooms, potatoes, carrots, konjac and add chicken. The vegetables produce a delicious broth. I love choosing vegetables according to the seasons. In the winter, I top my soup with a generous amount of chopped spring onion.

Mika pays particular attention to taking balanced meals morning, noon and evening. She does not consume any food containing additives or preservatives. It’s a habit she picked up before she even started fitness.

She eats what she likes and doesn’t hesitate: “I also eat cakes when I feel like it. I always tell myself that I’ll leave half for the next day, but I always end up breaking down and ending it all.

“Mika always stays true to herself and refuses nothing”.

--

--