Fatimah Rahman
Dec 17, 2023

--

My older brother was sure to dispose of his Guyanese accent within two years of our immigration to NY and gave up cricket in order to play basketball. He has never returned to the land of his birth and told his US born wife that in childhood he ran around barefoot. He forgot to tell her that our family home was a six bedroom house with electricity, running water and that we were middle class. We had to depart because of socio-economic and political upheaval and I recall the struggles. His ‘shame’ has turned him into an angry and depressed man. His wife ultimately left him to marry a Panamanian man with a thick accent who proudly switched back and forth from English to Spanish. I later told him that his accent might have made him more compelling and sexy!

--

--

Fatimah Rahman

I believe in justice, balance, equity and that the society is failing in living out its contract. Cynical and unconventional, I’m an advocate for change.