"Which incident made me happy and which made me sad in life"

Happiness and sadness are the states of emotions. Here I discussed two incidents, the first one is that which made me happy and the other made me sad.

Fazal Abbas
5 min readJul 8, 2021

photo credit: Dreamstime.com



Since man is a stimulus to emotions, his life revolves around happiness and sorrow. These two are the states of emotion. Every human being goes through them all the time. They are both part of life and no human is free from them. I believe that happiness and sorrow come into a person’s life because of other people.

This world is a test and Allah Almighty has send man here to examine it. Allah Almighty examines the man in different ways. Allah sometimes tests the man by giving him happiness so that he may not forget his origin and knows the purpose to send him to this world. Sometimes, Allah examines man by giving him sorrows so that he may not become ungrateful. May there is another reason behind it I do not know. All I know is that we should ready for these all the time because either of them can comes at any time in our lives without inform us.



Incident which made me happy:

Happiness is a comparative emotion. It is something like satisfaction, mental or emotional state of well-being characterized by positive or good emotions or feeling of something good.

Positive psychology researcher Sonja Lyubomirsky in her 2007 book The How of Happiness, elaborates, describing happiness as “the experience of joy, contentment, or positive well-being, combined with a sense that one’s life is good, meaningful, and worthwhile.” The incidents which make us feel joyful are happiness. Now I am going to discus one of them from my life.



It’s matter of those days when I was a student of 8th class. I and one of my best friend Ali which is also my neighbor used to enjoy a lot, after school we played together and did every piece of work together. Life seemed very beautiful and everything was good. He went to school in city and I was at a school in village.

Then suddenly we do not know what sin we got that one day when I came back from school I informed that Ali did not come back from school. The heart tried to give a lot of comfort, but how long will it come? All of us were growing upset and anxiety was on its peak, which converted into unbearable sorrow till next day. Allah knows where he went, got into which trouble, in which situation is he? These questions were stirring my heart.

Then we started looking for him, we went to all of police stations in the neighborhood, contact more and more people, posted advertisements in newspapers. We did not leave any difficulty in finding it, but in vain. We did not know where he went and what should we do. Then the hours turned into days, and the days into months, the situation continued to turn into despair and despair and his wait began to an ending. We were beginning to believe that he would never come.

Then one day there was a knock on the door suddenly, I opened the door and shocked to saw that Ali was in front of me. I was staring on him unconsciously in a very unusual way, I couldn’t believe my eyes, it seemed like it was all a dream. We hugged each other so that this dream would never be broken. Luckily, that was not a dream but reality. I couldn’t imagine the joy that came to me at that moment. I felt as if all the joys of the world were in my swing. Everyone was so happy to see him. Then he narrated all the events how he was kidnapping and as if he ran away. After that we started laughing and being happy again. It was the incident that made me happy the most in my life.

Incident which made me sad:

Sadness is an emotional pain, characterized by feeling of disadvantage, loss, despair, helplessness and sorrow. We face sadness when we lost something costly or close to our heart.

John R. “Jack” Schafer” who is the behavioral analyst for the FBI said:

“The measure of happiness a person feels is judged against the measure of sadness a person felt in the past. The greater degree of sadness, the greater degree of happiness. Without sadness, happiness has no meaning.”

He says that without sadness happiness has no worth.Sadness is also the part of life. I am going to discuss an incident from my life that made me sad.

That was almost a year ago when my maternal uncle Anwar went to water the fields as usual in the morning, but this unfortunate morning was different from the rest of the days. In the afternoon, while he was returning home for lunch he had an accident with a rickshaw due to which he died on the spot. And when this news reached the house, the earth came out from under everyone’s feet, the Hour had taken place in the house, there was chaos in the house, and this news came as a mountain of sorrow for us. He was the head of the house and we could not imagine that we would be without him, we lost our senses and we saw no way out. When we arrived at the scene of the accident, his body was lying in front of us covered in blood and there was nothing we could do for him. It was the height of helplessness. I was crying uncontrollably and saying that this could not happen, this could not happen… But it happened and we had to admit it. It was the most sorrowful incident that I saw in my life.

--

--

Fazal Abbas

A creative writer, student of literature, love philosophy and enjoy solitude. Nature Lover | Life-Long Learner.