Being a photographer at a horse show

Frankie Benka
2 min readMay 22, 2023

--

As an equine photographer, I’ve had the opportunity to shoot at many horse shows. It’s always a great experience, and I love getting to capture the excitement and beauty of the sport.

One of the things I love most about shooting at horse shows is the variety of shots I can get. I can capture the athleticism of the horses as they jump or perform dressage movements. I can also capture the bond between horse and rider, as well as the excitement of competition.

Another thing I love about shooting at horse shows is the people. I get to meet so many interesting people, from riders and trainers to judges and spectators. Everyone is passionate about horses, and it’s great to be able to share that passion with them.

Of course, no horse show is without its challenges. The weather can be unpredictable, and it can be difficult to get good shots in the bright sunlight. But overall, I find that the challenges are outweighed by the rewards.

If you’re a horse lover, I highly recommend attending a horse show. It’s a great way to see some amazing animals in action, and you might even get some great photos by which to remember the day.

Here are a few tips for equine photographers who are new to shooting at horse shows:

  • Be prepared for anything. The weather can change quickly, so it’s a good idea to have a variety of lenses and settings on hand.
  • Get to know the sport. The more you know about horse shows, the better you’ll be able to capture the action.
  • Be respectful of the riders and horses. Don’t get in their way, and be sure to ask permission before taking their photos.
  • Have fun! Horse shows are a great place to meet other horse lovers and learn about the sport.

I hope this blog post has given you a little insight into the world of equine photography. Here’s one of my favorite photos from a show last weekend:

--

--

Frankie Benka

My passion is photographing horses. I would love to video your heart horse so you have a lasting memory to keep and share forever.