Thank You.

Akapo Damilola
4 min readJan 1, 2016

--

I kid a lot. Seriously, I do. I also say “thank you” a lot too, to people who are deserving of it.

I am a cynic, more often than not. I can also be a lover, friend and brother, as scenarios dictate.

Sometimes I lie, I try not to but one can only be unflinching so long. Most times, I would tell you the truth, even if you would hate me for it.

I have my mother’s mischievous sense of humor and my father's calm nature.

I am young but feel so old, smart with a lot more to still learn. Lazy but very efficient.

I am very depressive but I can also laugh.

Through it all, everyone in the world has played a role. We are not as disconnected as you think.

Thank you.

Thank you 2015, you saved me from falling over the edge I had driven myself to in my early years. You introduced new people to me, some I connected with, many others I did not.

Thank you, Amy, you were the calm after the storms in my sea. You kept the fire lit even when all I wanted to be was ashes, you whispered softly to me when I needed words and was embroidered in silence. Thank you for the half-baked jokes and web links pregnant with “meaning”. Thank you for holding me through those depressive moments, even times when I didn’t want you there. Truth be told, I almost always want you there, there’s something about your eyes that calms me. Thank you for 2015.

Thank you, Mum, for the early years when I was still trying to forge a path in life. Thank you for the cyber cafe money, which I skipped one too many classes to go to. Thank you for believing in me when I was 8. Thank you for trusting me with my own decisions, not like you had a choice but thank you for not making it harder. Thank you for being able to make me smile, laugh and giggle. I miss that and I don’t do it much anymore. Thank you for shouldering a lot of responsibilities I became cognizant of as I grew older. Thank you for me.

Thank you, Dad. I learned a lot from you, from a distance and up close. I learned the power and importance of a number of things. Your lessons would have been incomplete with mother’s, hers would have been deficient without yours. Thank you for a few lessons on money, it’s importance and the humor around it. Thank you for the shoulder rides when I was 5, every time the world gets crazy and I haven’t strengthened my stance, I drift away and remember those afternoons, face-cap, shoulder rides and fan-ice yoghurts. I was a privileged child thanks to you and mother. Thank you for all the books.

Thank you, Timmy, Tope and Dare. You are pretty cool siblings, a bit riotous but cool nonetheless. Deviant from me but unique in their single individual ways.

Thank you, Sayo Oladeji, for a number of classified things.

Thank you, Kingsley Adio, for a number of other classified things.

Thank you, Dami Ige. Discussing mathematics and how it intertwines with the universe is a very interesting.

Thank you, Tayo, for keeping Sayo out of trouble.

Thank you, Deyo, for a few opinion shifts.

Thank you, Susan. There is no Susan.

Thank you, Victoria. There is a Victoria and she is awesome.

Thank you, Segun Famisa, Wale Oyediran, Adegoke Obasa, Olaoye Adeyemi, Moyinoluwa Adeyemi, Abdul-Rahman Shitu, Eze Nnanna, Caleb Mbakwe, Boyewa Richard, Temitayo Fagbowore, Olajide Oye, Pastor Tayo,
Sanni Abdulmusawwir, Adebayo Moses, Asikhia Eseohi, Akintewe Oluwarotimi, Mahmood Oyewo, Zainab Aiyeleso, Bestman Soikramari and a host of others. Thank you for building a strong ecosystem, all those years at Alumni laboratory and Webometric office.

Thank you, those who claim to have learned a few things from me with or without my active input. You guys own the world.

Thank you, Hextremelabs team (Sayo, Kingsley, Tayo and Amarachi).

Thank you, Cotta & Cush team.

Thank you, eChurch.ng team.

Thank you, CoEx ex-team.

Thank you to all the folks who let me troll them on twitter. I had a few good laughs, at my own jokes.

Thank you to those I engaged on spirited conversations, I learned from our intellectual duels.

Thank you, Google, for the overtly amazing continuity of the Android platform, Google pay and Gmail.

Thank you, Microsoft, for Windows.

Thank you, Apple inc. For Apple Music, xCode and Swift programming language.

Thank you, everyone, in one way or the other you all contributed to my 2015.

Thank you, the Universe. You taught me not to wait for things but get on my feet and troll people. You are the ultimate troll and I can only aspire to be like you.

Haha!!

Thank you all and have a blast in 2016.

--

--