UpNepaBot

Akapo Damilola
2 min readJan 10, 2018

--

[Note: This was initially built for personal use. I could write a dissertation about “How I shouldn’t need this in the first place but Nigeria is a failed state yen yen yen”. But I am tired and would rather solve my problems as much as I can. But you can feel free to discuss the state of Nigeria. Live and let live.]

Howdy!!

I wrote a simple app + bot to help me keep track of power supply schedule at my apartment. Something about necessity and inventions.

Note: This works best with a spare phone.

I have been using this setup for over a week now and it has been a very useful tool, so I decided to share with y’all Nigerians who can understand the struggle.

How to:

  • Download the Upnepa.apk app and install on an Android phone of choice.
  • Once installed, register for a profile on the app and leave the phone plugged into a socket directly powered by PHCN(This is the most important part). [The phone will need regular internet access if you want to receive the remote notifications on telegram otherwise, you can just view the logs.]
  • Configure remote notifications on your Telegram app by using the @UpNepaBot

Enjoy real-time Phcn supply notifications.

P.S: For best use, leave the Android phone plugged into power.

[Screenshots]

[UpNepa Telegram Bot]

[UpNepa Android App]

P.S: A lot of good advice is being given. All noted. :)

This is meant to be an Android Things project. The “resource overkill” was needed for an initial iteration. I intend to add a few more interesting features over time. So, keep the ideas coming.

--

--