The power of community

Fearless Beauty
3 min readMay 1, 2018

--

Photos via Clara Vanucci

A message from Fearless Beauty founder Heather Packer:

Twelve weeks into our program at Rikers Island Jail, it happened. That’s when I realized that we were doing what my heart set out to do: build community. Of course, it’s easy and exciting to see Fearless students learning to be hairstylists, and I knew that many of them would master the techniques. And…

Together with students and teachers, we’ve built a community where there is mutual trust, support and encouragement in a space where at best those qualities don’t thrive and at worst are dangerous to hold onto.

I first noticed when I was supporting Carmen in creating her look for the Hair Show. As her hands grasped the three sections for the braid, her confidence faltered and she questioned herself out loud saying, “I don’t think I can do this. I can’t do this.” Before I could share my words of encouragement, from across the table a sweet voice called out, “Of course you can! I saw you do it last week! Here, why don’t you try my comb?” Until that moment, there hadn’t been any sharing of tools or words of encouragement from fellow classmates. Until that moment, it didn’t feel safe to be vulnerable and receive support — because it probably isn’t safe outside of our little space.

The following week, when I ventured back to the classroom, many women greeted each other with hugs and laughter. The room was buzzing with energy. During our opening circle, I asked that each student and teacher share their thoughts on the Hair Show. Kim shared first, saying that she was not only speaking for herself but for all of the students: What stood out the most was that after our Hair Show, we shared a meal together. At each round table set up around the gymnasium, rather than sitting separately, Fearless teachers and students shared the meal as people. Kim explained how much it meant to be treated with dignity and respect.

More and more every day, I’m reminded of our shared humanity. Life circumstances and injustices so often divide us, and when we take the time to sit at a table, share a conversation and a meal, it’s so clear to see:

We are all human beings, and we all desire and deserve to be seen, heard, and loved.

These values guide our work. Thank you for being part of the community making it possible.

ICYMI: Join Fearless Beauty and ConBody in NYC May 16th!

ConBody will host a prison-style boot camp workout with all proceeds benefiting Fearless Beauty’s cosmetology program for women at Rikers Island Jail.

We hope you can join! Be sure to register to reserve your spot.

--

--

Fearless Beauty

empowers women impacted by institutional and social injustice through cosmetology education and beauty industry mentorship. www.fearlessbeauty.org