Journey to postgresql #1

Febriyant Abidin
2 min readOct 13, 2022
Photo by Windows on Unsplash

Hi in this journal I will share my experience learning about PostgreSQL.

Currently, my job is senior dba in HR solution company. I was familiar with other RDBMS products like SQL Server, MySQL, MariaDB, and Oracle. But my most skill is in SQL Server, MySQL, and MariaDB.

after maybe 4 or 5 years with that. But in my mind, I still have a question

why postgresql is still popular as rdbms ??

So after I joined to data engineer community and other database administrator communities on telegram I got some points why PostgreSQL is still popular as RDBMS. PostgreSQL has good wire protocol and has a lot of data types like JSON data type.

so I start set my targets for upgrading my skill in PostgreSQL. so this is my target

  • Installed PostgreSQL on a standalone virtual machine with Linux.
  • Learn about configuration
  • Understanding backup and restore concept logical and physical backup
  • how to maintain PostgreSQL

Like other people, I start not from read some documentation (kidding) but I start searching tutorials about PostgreSQL, but I only got good tutorial video part of PLSQL from freecodecamp

Next, I search on Udemy about Administration PostgreSQL and I found a good syllabus.

https://www.udemy.com/share/103At23@w1IHPXqTVn26QCyPAoWGW1XAL9Pxq1bWrrbMY-PTZIP1Nhge2vXv2acVjXfSq0c6/

In that course, he explains part of the parameters from PostgreSQL. And he makes demos on two environments windows and Linux.

Maybe this is enough for part #1.

In the next part, I will make a summary of the PostgreSQL design and part configuration.

Thank you

--

--