Love War

Wanjiru Francis Mwangi
1 min readJan 20, 2019

My heart sails in the dark sky
My soul adrift and I know why
It is because of you, I won’t lie
Though face to face, am a bit shy
*
Shy of this truth within my heart
Seeping my joy, breaking me apart
I can feel the cracks, my body hurt
of my expectations, I don’t know what
*
The sun rose in the east headed west
All those hours here I sat
Drowning myself in thought
From which angle, I have a better shot
*
Ouch! another streak of pain
A heart breaking from within
In sadness, I hold my chin
Contemplating on a war, I can’t win
*
Good things are owned
Long before they unfold
By those with larger folds
In banks I was told
*
But what am I in this world
Poor! broken with no ground
I trend softly, never proud
Talk in whispers, never loud
*
How then can I win your heart
Such a beauty M’s Spat
A piece of it, I know I can’t
Hold a claim and it hurts

--

--