Battle in My Mind

Dreaming.in.Words
1 min readOct 10, 2019

I feel like my mind is battling my heart and they’re both at war with me.

Causing me to lose sleep and the ability to think clearly.

Help me! I can’t breathe, drowning in a sea of tears.

My mind takes simple situations and turns them into my worst fears.

I’m all alone. Stranded in a desolate place.

1, 2 , 3 breathe. My heart disregards the cue and picks up its pace.

My chest is about to explode, my stomach is weak.

I’ve lost the ability to think and I stutter as I try to speak.

You say get over it as if it’s something I could simply turn off.

I’m a warrior, been fighting forever so I am far from soft.

It is something that I endure but I will surely survive.

I am depression. I am anxiety. I am one in five.

Her_WriteHand (follow on Instagram)

--

--