Squeezing More Juice from the QR Code Lemon: A Restaurant Perspective

Felicia Laluki
4 min readJun 28, 2023

--

Imagine this: you’re at a busy restaurant, and a QR code is winking at you from the table, like a silent waiter, whispering, “Forget the hassles, friend, I’ve got your back.”

All you have to do is scan the code, navigate the menu, and order your food — voila, all without lifting more than a finger. Plus, consider it from the restaurant’s side: no need to reprint menus when prices change, and no grubby fingers smudging the appetizer page.

As I scanned the QR code and navigated through the digital landscape of the restaurant, I began to notice things that could have been done differently. Here are 7 ways restaurants can transform their QR code marketing from a simple sugar and sour job into a master chef’s special.

1. Retargeting Opportunity

By scanning the QR code and accessing the website, I’ve just handed over valuable information about my visit. If the restaurant has done its homework right, they can use this info to retarget me based on this interaction.

2. Tailored User Experience

Here’s a pro tip: Use individual QR codes for each of your restaurant locations and catering services. This strategy doesn’t just enhance the user experience by offering a personalized touch, but it also allows you to gather a wealth of unique user data. For instance, when I scan a QR code at your restaurant, and it leads me to a specific page versus the homepage, it creates a personalized user journey. So, you can retarget me, knowing I was physically in your restaurant. Apply this same logic to your catering services, and you’ve just doubled your data points.

3. Misused Incentives

Upon visiting their website, a pop-up form appeared, offering a $5 coupon immediately after registration. This, in my opinion, was an ineffective use of incentives. I’m already there, so why do I need a discount for my current visit? While it’s always nice to receive a discount, we need to consider the restaurant’s standpoint. Particularly if it’s a tourist hotspot, the restaurant incurs a loss of $5 per order — a significant missed opportunity when calculated over time. Ideally, these incentives should be structured to inspire repeat visits rather than rewarding what is already the current behavior

5. Smarter Incentives

Here’s a pro tip: If the primary goal is data collection, consider switching up your incentives. Instead of a $5 discount, why not offer a free dessert, drink, or appetizer? Firstly, it doesn’t eat into your profit as much as a direct discount would. Also, this approach allows you to have control over the special treat you want to offer, whether it’s based on inventory or price. Not to mention that a complimentary gift like this adds a personal touch, making guests’ dining experiences more memorable and encouraging them to come back for more.

5. Capture Essential Information

When registering for a coupon, the form only asked for my name, email, and birthday. In today’s mobile-first world, not asking for a cellphone number is a missed opportunity. Why not ask if I’m a new or returning customer? Or if I’m local or just passing through? These details can tailor your marketing messages and ensure your offers are hitting home.

6. Lack of Data Management

Then, when I received a coupon, it was nothing special, just a code that I casually showed to the waiter. Without delving into the details, he simply nodded and said, “Okay.” It struck me that anyone could easily show the same coupon multiple times, depleting valuable resources yet providing no concrete data on its effectiveness. How would the restaurant distinguish between my first visit and my 50th? How would they determine if I had registered for the coupon or simply borrowed it from a friend? Regrettably, the restaurant overlooked a golden opportunity to gather insightful information about customer engagement and spending patterns. It would have been better to create a digital redeemable offer that accurately tracks usage and identifies the actual customer who redeemed it.

7. An Overwhelming Follow-Up

I received two emails within 30 minutes of my visit — one with the discount and another just as a follow-up. In an age of information overload, less is often more. Combining both messages into one well-crafted email would’ve been more effective and less distracting.

While the restaurant did embrace technology, they missed out on optimizing its data collection and customer retention strategies. So, smaller restaurants and food businesses out there, take note! The key to outsmarting larger chains lies in the details — the smart, purposeful use of QR codes, well-curated user experiences, careful information gathering, wisely employed incentives, efficient data management, and tactful communication.

Welcome to my personal blog tailored for foodpreneurs in the restaurant industry. Join me as I share insights and tips to improve guest experiences, offering practical advice to help you succeed in this competitive field. Let’s create a community together.

--

--