[Growth Case Study] How I made $100 every hour by sharing Basecamp’s HEY.com invite codes

Felix Josemon
3 min readJun 20, 2020

--

If you not living under the rock, you would have heard HEY.com by Basecamp team. They just crossed 95,000+ people on their waiting list. It became so hyped, and it reached a stage where people started buying Invite codes on eBay for more than $500 per invite.

Since I signed up early, I got access to the HEY Invite code on day 1 of their launch. The code can only be used 3 times, so I decided to share my codes to anyone who buys me a cup of coffee on my Twitter profile.

My imbox(well it’s not at typo, that’s what HEY.com inboxes are called) & DM got flooded with people who want a HEY invite. So I created a sheet and built a PAY-IT Forward campaign where anybody who gets an invite will offer one back to others on my list.

A few minutes after posting this on Twitter, I got $95 worth of coffees on my Buy Me a Coffee account. It went so viral that people outside the list started sharing their unused invites.

That’s how it got started.

It’s Day 3 of the PAY-IT Forward campaign and I have 86 supporters on my Buy Me a Coffee Page :https://www.buymeacoffee.com/felixbmc

update: 25th June 2020, while it had 133 supporters

I am thinking of offering access to top of my list to anyone who can offer more than 15 coffees till I reach 100 supporters. (Update: Offer expired, we are going strong with 117 supporters)

I am also thinking of writing a complete case study in a week or two, on what strategies worked and what didn’t, twitter hacks and how I automated my google sheet.

Let me know if you have any specific questions in the comments below. I will keep everyone posted here.

UPDATE: Having Coffee Video Chat with Supporters, come join in: https://twitter.com/Felix_Josemon/status/1274694408147894277?s=20

Fingers crossed 🤞
Earnings so far, trying to open source my experiments, knowledge and new learnings like every other post I write. follow me on twitter if you want to see more.

And hey emails I been sending for last few days to HEY Invite codes chain supporters:)

If you enjoyed this, consider dropping a message on hello@felixjosemon.com?

--

--

Felix Josemon

Google Scholar, Digital Entrepreneur, Building Products, Creating Opportunities for Growth & Excellence felix.bio.link