Is It Too Late To Learn Programming?

Prof. Cabrera
6 min readMar 31, 2019

--

Recently, I’ve been getting the question of “I am ___ old, is it too late to learn how to code?” I’ve been receiving the same question but in different ways. So, today I am going to answer this question as well share some tips you can use to learn how to code at any age.

These are tips I have gained through the years as a computer programming teacher and tutor.

First, let’s answer the question. I believe that you can learn how to code at any age, and at any point in your life. Learning how to code is a process of acquiring a skill, like learning how to play a sport or an instrument. However, I acknowledge that students at different stages in their lives according to their age.

Thus, what I always recommend is finding the best learning methods, tools that can help you learn how to code according to your circumstance.

Before we start, if you would like a video version of this content, check out the video below.

Now, without further ado, let’s get started.

Choose a programming language

Before you start learning how to code, I suggest choosing a programming language that will help you achieve your goal. I also recommend students selecting the programming language they feel the most comfortable with if they have had any programming related experience before. If not, I always suggest students start with a programming language that is not too heavy on its syntax. That is, it doesn’t scare the student and makes them run away by the complexity of how the programming statements look.

Choose the programming language that is right for you

If you don’t have any programming language in mind, I recommend starting to learn how to write computer programs using Python. In my experience as a computer programming teacher, Python is a good programming language for beginners because it takes care of some of the things under the hood such as declaring the types of variables. Which in my opinion, takes a load off for beginners; this way, they can focus on investing their time and energy to learning fundamentals. These include concepts like using variables, writing loops and decision structures (if-else statements, etc.).

Start small

It doesn’t matter if you are 16, 26 or even 60 years old, I always recommend all the students I work with to start small when learning how to code. An analogy I like to use with students that don’t have any prior experience with computer programming at all is to think like starting to play basketball for the first time. We first start with the basic moves such as how to dribble, shoot and perform a layup with the basketball. Then, as we master these fundamental moves, we can start making and crafting more complicated plays.

Bringing it back to computer programming, I like to tell the students I work with to learn the basics of computer programming and then build from there. Moreover, I recommend to master these fundamentals on an elementary level; then we start combining these concepts to create more complex programs. Then, as the student gains confidence and builds a solid foundation with these concepts, we can begin diving into making simple applications. As time goes by, we start working on more elaborate projects.

Start with the basics, then build from there

I suggest starting with writing a simple “Hello World” statement that prints an output on the string, then start building from there. I always recommend the students I work with this approach and as the idiom goes, “don’t bite more than you can chew.” The times I see students tackling more profound, complex programming principles without a solid foundation of the basics, many of these students get frustrated and stop learning how to code.

Which is not the purpose of this article (or any of my articles), the intention is to help you get started to learning how to code, as well as assisting you in your journey when learning how to write computer programs. However, at the end of the day, it’s up to you, learning how to code requires discipline and hard work, just like any other discipline such as learning how to play basketball or play an instrument.

Choose the path that is right for you

When it comes to learning, you are the one that knows and understands how you learn effectively and grasp concepts. Whereas that is by reading books, taking online courses or even attending a classroom environment. Despite the age, you decide to start learning how to code I always recommend the students I work with to choose the path that will help you achieve success on your terms.

For instance, if you are learning how to code to become a front end developer professionally, that is, apply to job positions for these kinds of roles. In my experience, there are two main paths that you can choose from (that come to mind at the moment), self-taught or a classroom environment.

My definition of being self-taught when it comes to learning how to code is mainly, you being your teacher, establishing a study regimen and follow it by yourself. Also, finding the resources whereas they are in the forms of books, videos, articles or any educational materials that can help you learn the related programming concepts you are going to be investing your time in studying.

Choose the path that is going to help you succeed

On the other hand, my definition of a path that includes a classroom environment is one that provides for a teacher to guide you and mentor you during the learning process. These include paths such as attending a coding bootcamp or pursuing a degree in a discipline that requires coding related courses — for example, pursuing a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science in a college institution. These are just examples of paths you can seek, there can be others.

The great thing about technology advances we enjoy every day, such as the Internet, is that it opens the door of opportunity to learn in different ways. It opens the doors to various resources you can use to enhance your learning experience when learning how to code. You can take online courses, watch videos on platforms such as YouTube, even get access to great mentors and tutors that can assist you in your journey in learning programming.

There you have it, my answer to the question if is it too late to learn programming as well as some tips you can use in starting your journey learning how to code.

If you happy and you know it, clap your hands :)

As always, don’t forget to follow me and click on the applause button, so you don’t miss content that can help you in some way along your coding journey.

Also, I know if you like this kind of content so I can keep writing more of these types of articles to help you on your journey learning how to code.

If you liked this article, feel free to share it with a friend. It might help them in some way.

Also, if you need help in your coding journey and would like to work with me, click here for more information.

I hope this helps!

If you liked this article, I think you might be interested these articles as well:

Disclaimer: Results may vary. These tips and advice are based on my experience and opinion as a former undergraduate Computer Science student. Also as a tutor, teacher, and professional software developer. Everyone is different, so, the advice shared in this article may or not work for you.

Photo by Startup Stock Photos from Pexels

Originally published at yadielcabrera.com on March 31, 2019.

--

--