What Does Learning To Code Have To Do With Basketball?

Applying the skills learned playing basketball in learning how to code

Prof. Cabrera
5 min readOct 24, 2019
Photo by Chris Moore on Unsplash

In my teenage years, I started to get involved in the world of sports. I played basketball and soccer.

Now, I play for fun. However, as a software developer, I have been able to translate some of the skills and qualities I picked up playing basketball and use them to succeed in my career.

Through the years, I have noticed that there are commonalities between these two very different disciplines. Some may seem obvious, and others don’t.

So, today, I will share some of these skills and qualities I developed playing basketball so you can use them too in your career as a software developer, or if you are learning to code.

And if you are (or were) an athlete or basketball player and also are learning how to code, you can leverage these lessons as well in your journey learning to code.

Mastering The Fundamentals

As a basketball player and fan, when I started to play, I needed to learn the fundamentals moves of the sport.

Without learning the basics of scoring and defending, I couldn’t compete against other players.

--

--