Author in Fisherman’s Bastion, Budapest (Hungary)
Image by the author

Why Should You Travel Alone At Least Once In Your Life? 🛫

Fer Leon
3 min readAug 6, 2023

--

Until I turned 20, I hadn’t even taken a flight in my life, and I had hardly ever left my country.

I enjoyed traveling, but it was always with my family, and mostly by car, for the typical vacations in the family´s hometown.

Sometimes I traveled with my friends; in fact, the trip I mentioned earlier was one where I went with some friends to visit another friend who was doing her Erasmus in Bologna (Italy).

After that first adventure, traveling to other countries became more common. United Kingdom, Greece, USA, Italy again…

Approaching my 30s, I decided to do an EVS (European Voluntary Service). It was an unforgettable experience. We’ll talk about it someday.

The thing is, apart from that, I had never traveled alone. I mean, buying a plane ticket and going to an unknown country as a tourist. ALONE.

I admit, I have always been a bit fearful and used to to see the glass half empty (it still happens sometimes).

So it took a 20-year-old fellow volunteer to convince me that I had to do it at least once in my life. The truth is, the marketing was very persuasive. She had traveled to Serbia alone and enthusiastically told me it was an incredible experience.

--

--