Raja Yoga

What is Raja Yoga?

Raja yoga is the king of all yogas. Raja yoga is concerned directly with the MIND.

The yogi in Hatha Yoga should sit down and be able to observe its own mind and be able to silence all the thoughts that are coming up. Raja yoga will push the student to go up the spiritual ladder.

The Yoga Sutras were written by Sage Patanjali, they are dated to around 500 B.C.E. The Yoga Sutras are the exponents of Yoga philosophy.

A Sutra means a text written in aphorithm that are full of hidden and deep meaning.

Atha Yoganusasanam- 
With prayers for divine blessing, now begins the exposition of the sacred art of Yoga.
Yoga Citta Vritti Nirodhah-
Yoga is the cessation of movements in the consciousness
(Yoga Sutra 1, 1–2)

What is Yoga?

Yoga is the suppression of the modifications in the mind. The suppression of all thought that is coming to the mind by our own will. This is when we start getting power of mind. This is when one can advance in the spiritual world.

When this suppression occurs the SEER will abide in his own True Nature. 
There is always an internal war going on inside our heads. When we are finally able to control this war and the Gunas seize to exist we can finally rest in our own true nature.

Sthira Sukham Asana-
Asana is perfect firmness of body, steadiness of intelligence and benevolence of Spirit.
(Yoga Sutra 2, 46)
Prayatna Saithilya Ananta Samapattibhyan-
Perfection in an Asana is achieved when the effort to perform it becomes effortless and the infinite being within is reached
(Yoga Sutra 2.47)
Tasmin Sati Svasa Prasvayoh Gaticicchedah Pranayama-
Pranayama and regulation of incoming and outgoing flow of breath with retention. It is to be practiced only after perfection in Asana is attained.
Bahya Abhyantara Stambha Vrittih Desa Kala-
Pranayama has three movements; prolonged and fine INHALATION, EXHALATION, and RETENTION. All this are regulated with precision according to duration and place.
(Yoga Sutra 2, 49–50)
Svavisaya Asamprayoge Cittasya Svarupanukarab Iva Indriyaham Pratyaharah
Withdrawing the senses, mind and consciousness from contact with external objects, and then drawing them inwards towards the SEER, is Pratyahara.
(Yoga Sutra 2, 54)
Desa Bandhah Cittasya Dharana
Fixing the consciousness on one point is concentration.
(Yoga Sutra 3, 1)
Tatra Pratyaya Ekatasnata Dhyanam
 Steady, continuous flow of attention directed toward the same point or region is meditation.
(Yoga Sutra 3, 2)
Taukva Arthamatranirbhasam Svaru Pasunyam Iva Samadhih
When the object of meditation engulfs the meditator appearing as the subject, self awareness is lost. This is SAMADHI.
(Yoga Sutra 3, 4)