Myat Pyae Hein — Myanmar

Class of 2017

My name is Myat Pyae Hein. I am an international student from Myanmar. I am the very first generation of an ordinary Myanmar family, who step into the United States 3 years ago with full of dedications to achieve my American Dream. I started my education journey at Foothill College in Fall 2014. The moment I realized I made a right choice coming to Foothill was during the International Orientation. Everyone in Foothill was super nice and very helpful. I started out as a Business Major. However, things did not work out well for me in Business Major. So, the International Counselors at Foothill helped me figure out that I had no interest in my major.

Later on, I changed my major to Engineering and I started to see improvements in my academic performances. Foothill provides us with great resources like STEM center, Library, TLC and so on. Faculties and tutors are always ready to help out students to achieve our academic goals. The small class-size gives me the opportunity to connect with my professors easily. When I was in Foothill, I made sure that I was putting my best effort into STEM classes because some of them were extremely hard. I did not realize that Foothill was giving me a taste of university-level classes until I transferred to San Jose State University. I had an amazing life experience at Foothill all because of new friends from all over the world, quality professors, wonderful staffs, great resources and beautiful campus. I transferred to San Jose State University (SJSU) as a Computer Engineering student in Fall 2017. I will be graduating in May 2020. Because of Foothill, I gained confidence in myself. The upper division classes I am taking in SJSU do not seem to be so difficult because of the preparation I got in Foothill. Going to Foothill was the best decision I have ever made. Thanks, Foothill!

--

--