In What Matters Is Life

F.H James
2 min readJan 23, 2024

--

“Things gravitate toward what they were intend for.” — Marcus Aurelius

We sail through choices,

yet exist in the present.

What marks our absence,

despite the falling leaves.

Of what’s felt or what’s not,

from me, diligence is a must,

to understand the end.

For better or for worse,

I can’t dwell in the past or the future.

Even if I’ve wished or sworn,

even if the fruits ripen.

No signal is secure.

That this will have changed.

For I only exist in the now.

And there will come a time,

when I cease to exist.

Looking at myself in the mirror,

my sole desire,

is that this man,

can be proud,

of having smiled and lived.

When my eyes lose their hue,

My body is cold and devoid of love.

My heart has, for the last time, beaten.

But in my coffin,

I will have preserved,

the widest smile.

For on the other side,

I won’t seek forgiveness,

for having lost myself,

Before the end.

--

--

F.H James
0 Followers

"A meaningful purpose in life involves seeking wealth through a clear perception of the great things that thrive within a humble soul."