Rebuttal: Why the Neurodiversity Movement is Harmful

Fierce Autie
11 min readSep 26, 2022

The Autistic Dark Web is all over. What are they? They are essentially the Anti — Neurodiversity movement. Their stance is wanting people to be accepted is extreme. They have another article out and we will take it apart paragraph by paragraph. As per usual, exact words in the article will be italicized. I will put in my own thoughts after each paragraph. The link to said article will be at the end.

I couldn’t help feeling a little apprehensive before my meeting with Thomas Clements. The British 30-year-old has what used to be called Asperger’s Syndrome, and describes himself as ‘slightly autistic’. Until our meeting in London, I’d had few close encounters with autistic people, so I wondered how to act, and how he might respond to my actions. Would he make eye contact with me? Should I try to shake his hand?

This article is already off to a bad start. I should have known Tom Clements was behind this. He is the person who coined the term “Autistic Dark Web.” You cannot be “slightly autistic.” You either you are or you aren’t. Ask the person what they prefer. Do not objectify autistic people.
Despite my apprehension, the meeting went well. Clements gets extremely confused in a group of people, and avoids those kinds of situations, but has no problem with one-on-one interactions. We met in the West End, had chicken katsu curry for lunch, and then walked

--

--

Fierce Autie

LGBT Autistic disabled Non binary parent to 8 ND children, autistic and not autistic. Been fighting the quack cures and for disabled rights everywehre.