Reflecting on My Role as a CTO

The Journey, Challenges, and Insights

Xiomara Figueroa
xiomara.dev

--

unsplash.com

Journey at BookSloth

During my time as the CTO of BookSloth, every day brought unique challenges, learning moments, and growth opportunities. My reflection over these years has led me to some realizations:

  1. Innovation isn’t always about freewheeling creativity; sometimes structured processes can amplify it.
  2. A strategy, no matter how brilliant, is only as good as its execution.
  3. While actions can make bold claims, it’s the data that truly affirms them.

Understanding the CTO Role

When I first started the role of CTO, the path wasn’t clearly defined. Through conversations with industry peers and mentors, I learned that a CTO’s responsibilities differ widely across organizations. For some startups, a CTO may start as an individual contributor but eventually evolves into a blend of technology and management. This transition from a tech lead to CTO can be challenging, yet it’s part of the growth process.

Beyond choosing the right technology or having top-notch engineers, it’s about fostering an environment of trust and functionality. While there’s guidance for CEOs, the struggles of a CTO remain underrepresented. Hence, I wanted…

--

--