Inside the world’s hottest startup

Filip Severin
4 min readOct 10, 2018

--

“Words on paper” is the next big thing.

A fast-growing tech company in Northern California has developed a new voice-to-text printer that scans through audio content at a staggering speed.

The company, Like-Share-Comment™, has already raised fresh capital from a range of sophisticated investors. Their first target is to capitalize on the thriving podcast and audiobook industry.

“Booming growth in the audio industry drives demand for complementary products,” says Matthew Kinder, an 8-year-old genius and founder of Legacy Ventures. “I see Magazines and Paperbacks as two promising categories.”

While traditional publishers are struggling to turn a profit, savvy investors see an opportunity. “We look at failed industries and yell disruption,” says Rudy Falcone, Vice President at Disruptive Capital Group. “Many pension funds recognize the edge in this strategy and trust us with their money. What more can I say? It’s a win for us.”

Not everyone agrees with Kinder and Falcone. Rick Lipska, a social media strategist and marginalized millennial, doesn’t think the market is ready yet. “I tried to read an entire paperback once,” he says. “Trust me, it’s not as easy as it looks.”

Although Lipska’s bearish remark is trending on Instagram, early investors remain bullish. “The ROI will go through the roof,” says Kinder. “I bet my puberty on it.”

Matthew Kinder founded Legacy Ventures after earning one million dollars on his proprietary investment strategy. Despite being secretive, Kinder hints that it involves a hefty stream of cash gifts from his wealthy grandparents.

To make sense of the hype, I visited Like-Share-Comment™’s new headquarter in downtown San Francisco: a 52-floor high-rise with its own space crew. I sat down with the company’s CEO, Ken Ross, who was dressed in a casual white T-shirt and a plaid kilt which he bought online from Amazon’s new brick-and-mortar store in New York City.

Ross was quick to reveal his company’s new vision. “Innovation is fun, but real estate is king,” he said. “I look at people without a home or an office and I shudder….I don’t want to live like that. It’s depressing.”

Somewhat confused, I asked him what it had to do with his company’s latest product innovation? Ross smiled and pulled out an air guitar. “It’s like that old song,” said Ross and began humming. “You know….Simply the best….Better than all the rest.”

Seconds after, an assistant rushed through the door holding a small robot in her hands. The robot, which is Ross’ chief of staff, informed us that Ross was late for an investor meeting with SoftBank about inventing a wheel that is rounder than any other existing wheel. “I almost forgot,” said Ross. “This is my passion project. My baby. It’s going to change everything.”

Ken Ross’ chief of staff, powered by artificial intelligence.

On my way down to the lobby, I took a detour to explore the relatively empty office building. Inside a moving box, I found a pile of signs which included the phrases “rent a desk” and “free coffee.” I put two and two together and realized that the company must also be in the works of launching an innovative co-working space for digital nomads.

Three Digital Nomads

The day after my interview, Ken Ross announced on Twitter that he has commissioned 50% of the company’s capital to design their very own flag. “It’s about time we start standing up for human rights,” he wrote. “But, first things first.”

That’s when it struck me… Ken Ross is no mere entrepreneur. Ken Ross is a leader for mankind!

Ken Ross at his latest investor presentation.

--

--