The art of speech

Filipe Souza
5 min readAug 15, 2019

--

This is the first time that I text only in english, maybe it gonna be an error, but like I said it’s good exit from your conffort zone, and I think that the only way to learn something, its with practice and desire, so… Here I am!

First of all, I would like to say sorry, I really don’t know how to create texts like in portuguease, but I’ll do my best :) !

Me, trying to sell my app

A little about me

To be honest, I never was a shy person and maybe this is what helped me. Since I remember, I always liked to talk with everyone, and tell jokes. Besides that, I always dreaming to be a rockstar, so I loved when people looked at me, but even this worked, maybe I wasn’t born for that… But even everybody isn’t like me, a lot of people who have problems with speech, specially public speech big part of this is due to shyness, so if you aren’t a shy person, you can skip this part.

I don’t want to be a coach or something like that, so relax, I won’t say motivational words or anything about how awesome you’re, for me this is a waste of time

I’ll summarize how to overcome to shyness, I’am not a profissional about that, so after read this, I trully recommend you to find a psychologist and work with him. Again, forget the motivacional coaches, they’re losers trying to earn money with desperate people. If you wanna a coach, looking for coaches who really understand about, not in coaching but in the area that you looking for help. So without further ado, follow a few steps to help you

1- Talk to the cashiers / store attendants / restaurants / malls etc. They are paid to be kind to you or at least not to be scrotums. It will help you prepare new topics and start conversations with strangers, getting used the idea.

2- Get a friend who also wanted to stop being shy. It is important that both exchange experiences and encourage each other to improve. Seeing your friend grow up encourages you not to set back or vice versa

3- Start getting ready to walk. Wear basic clothes, leaving band / anime clothes in the wardrobe for a while. A pair of jeans and a tight shirt (without being tight) come of size. Also, look into the eyes of everyone who passes on the street(becareful to don’t look like a crazy person). Most look away, politely greet those who do not look away (men and women without distinction).

4- Physical exercises. In addition to improving your shape, posture and overall self-esteem, they also release endorphins that make you feel good. Many physical activities also allow them to have contact with others whom you can and should try to talk to.

Like I said, i’am not here to help you with the shyness but with your speeach.

Finally, about the speech

I'm not a professional, never even worked with it, but like I said on my first Medium post, I’am here to help everyone with my knowledge you’re free to read and take something to help you.

A lot of my speeches it was in IT area, since joining college, I’ve participated in countless programming competitions(Hackathon) and we’re always asked to do a pitch. In another words, we have only 5 minutes to sell an idea. First, I would like to recommend that you watch this video and pay attention.

Maybe you isn’t noticed, but this video is a pitch’s master piece, but why?

Problem

I know, maybe everyone has said that, but it’s the truth. You need to present the problem, this is the core of everything. So, always show the problem and then the solution(YOUR PRODUCT)

Nauseating repetition:

Repeat your product’s name, not everytime but the enough to stick in the your listener’s mind, notice that all the time he speaks TRIVAGO.

I appeal to authority

This is your product! Everybody needs to know that is the best product in the world. Even if you’re creating something simple you need to tell that’s the best product in the world. Remember, you don’t have to be arrogant, but show how your product it’s different than the others

Ordinary guy

If you aren’t famous, don’t try to be different. You need to be like the people who’s watching you. Remember, now you’re a product. I’am not saying to forget your wishes, but if you wanna sell something, maybe you need to sell yourself first. So, if you public it’s older, try to keep your HQ’s shirt away.

Slogan

It’s good to have a slogan who keeps in my mind. And say at the right moment. In my opinion, I recommend at the end like the Citroen, with your ‘’Citroen creative technology’’ or ‘’McDonalds, i’m lovin it’’.

Training

Train hard what you are going to say, neither Steve Jobs would go without practicing or without TOTAL knowledge of your product.

There’s a lot of tatics that you can use for make a good pitch, the only way to aprimore this is with practice. Don’t stand still, move gesture, make jokes if possible. Just don’t make your presentation boring! A good tip is to record your presentation and watch, and ask yourself: ‘’-I would pay for watch this?’’. Watch 10 times, and even if in 10 times you didn’t get sick then maybe it’s fine. After that, send to a friend that doesn’t know nothing about your product and ask him what does he think.

So, this is what I can tell your, another tip it’s watch TED talks. It’s a good way to know more about the speeches, pitchs and etc.

I hope I helped you somehow. If one of my topics helped you, I’am already glad. I hope see you again.

See you later and bye bye!

Até logo e tchau, tchau!

--

--

Filipe Souza

O cara da TI, viciado em endorfina. Tudo o que você encontrará aqui são textos sem sentido, mas a maioria com bom humor. outros nem tanto.